Press Release

ASHP Honors Members for Practice Excellence and Leadership

Thirty Pharmacists Designated Fellows of ASHP


BETHESDA, Md.—Thirty health-system pharmacists have been given the title “Fellow” by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) in recognition of the excellence they have achieved in pharmacy practice.  The 2012 Fellows will be honored on Tuesday, June 12, 2012, during the ASHP Summer Meeting & Exhibition in Baltimore, MD.
The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program recognizes excellence in practice and promotes public awareness of outstanding pharmacists.  Each applicant’s credentials are assessed against rigorous criteria that include contributions to the scientific literature, research, education and active involvement and leadership in professional activities.  Applicants also must have practiced in health-system pharmacy for at least 10 years. The program has recognized 720 Fellows since it began in 1988. The 2012 Fellows are: 
  • Stephen C. Adams, Pharm.D., FABFM, Raymond G. Murphy VA Medical Center, Albuquerque, NM;
  • Phil Ayers, Pharm.D., BCNSP, Mississippi Baptist Medical Center, Jackson, MS;
  • Mark L. Britton, Pharm.D., CDE, BC-ADM, University of Oklahoma College of Pharmacy, Oklahoma City, OK;
  • Timothy R. Brown, Pharm.D., BCACP, Akron General Medical Center, Akron, OH;
  • Angela T. Cassano, Pharm.D., BCPS, Pharmfusion Consulting, LLC, Midlothian, VA;
  • John S. Clark, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers, University of Michigan College of Pharmacy, Ann Arbor, MI;
  • Rick J. Couldry, B.S. Pharm., M.S., University of Kansas Hospital, Kansas City, KS;
  • Paul S. Driver, Pharm.D., BCPS, St. Joseph Regional Medical Center, Lewiston, ID;
  • Edward H. Eiland III, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS (AQ-ID), Huntsville Hospital, Huntsville, AL;
  • Lea S. Eiland, Pharm.D., BCPS, Auburn University Harrison School of Pharmacy, Huntsville, AL;
  • Kate Farthing, Pharm.D., BCPS, Legacy Health, Portland, OR;
  • Erin R. Fox, Pharm.D., University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics, Salt Lake City, UT;
  • Kevin W. Garey, Pharm.D., M.S., University of Houston College of Pharmacy, Houston, TX;
  • Kristine K. Gullickson, Pharm.D., Abbott Northwestern Hospital/Allina Health, Minneapolis, MN;
  • Joel A. Hennenfent, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS, Aspen Healthcare Metrics, a MedAssets Company, Centennial, CO;
  • Eric T. Hola, M.S., M.L.S., Saint Barnabas Medical Center, Livingston, NJ;
  • Todd A. Karpinski, Pharm.D., M.S., Froedtert Hospital, Milwaukee, WI;
  • Scott J. Knoer, Pharm.D., M.S., Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH;
  • Janet M. Kozakiewicz, Pharm.D., M.S., Hospital of Saint Raphael/Cardinal Health Pharmacy Management, New Haven, CT;
  • Traci L. Metting, Pharm.D., M.B.A., MedAssets, Dallas, TX;
  • Julie A. Murphy, Pharm.D., BCPS, St. Louis College of Pharmacy, St. Louis, MO;
  • Melinda M. Neuhauser, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FCCP, VA Pharmacy Benefits Management Services, Chicago, IL;
  • John D. Pastor III, Pharm.D., University of Minnesota Medical Center-Fairview, Minneapolis, MN;
  • Kevin C. Pendleton, B.S. Pharm., M.M., FMPA, McLaren-Northern Michigan, Petoskey, MI;
  • Robert L. Poole, Pharm.D., FPPAG, FCSHP, Lucile Packard Children's Hospital at Stanford, Palo Alto, CA;
  • Leigh Ann Ross, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, Jackson, MS;
  • Steve S. Rough, B.S. Pharm., M.S., University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics, Madison, WI;
  • Carrie A. Sincak, Pharm.D., BCPS, Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy, Downers Grove, IL;
  • Douglas Slain, Pharm.D., BCPS, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV;
  • Timothy J. Stroup, B.S. Pharm., FAPhA, Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Veterans Health Administration, Leavenworth, KS.
For information about the ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program or to request an application, contact Cheryl Imirie at (301) 664-8673.  Information, program criteria, and forms are also available on ASHP’s Web site at The deadline for receipt of applications is October 1, 2012.
About ASHP
For more than 60 years, ASHP has helped pharmacists who practice in hospitals and health systems improve medication use and enhance patient safety. The Society's 35,000 members include pharmacists and pharmacy technicians who practice in inpatient, outpatient, home-care, and long-term-care settings, as well as pharmacy students. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website, www.SafeMedication. 


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing