Press Release

Silvester Receives ASHP Award for Distinguished Practice Leadership

Pharmacy Director Led Influential Pharmacy Residency Program


BETHESDA, Md. — The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) today honored Janet Silvester, M.B.A., FASHP, for her sustained efforts to advance the profession with the Society’s Board of Directors Award for Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice. Silvester received the award during the opening session of ASHP’s 47th Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas.

Silvester has spent 32 years in hospital practice and is the director of pharmacy and emergency services at Martha Jefferson Hospital in Charlottesville, Va. Silvester has led the development of a progressive pharmacy program in a community hospital with an average daily census of 102. “Janet’s leadership demonstrates that progressive pharmacy practice is not limited to large teaching centers,” ASHP President Kathryn R. Schultz, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FASHP. 

During Silvester’s tenure, Martha Jefferson has developed a decentralized, integrated practice model with pharmacists stationed on patient care units throughout the day. A significant portion of medication dispensing is delegated to technicians through the utilization of bar code verification both in the pharmacy and at the bedside. Martha Jefferson Hospital was recognized as one of 25 most improved hospitals by Hospitals and Health Networks in 2009, in part because of technology such as dispensing robots, automated medication storage and retrieval systems, automated medication dispensing cabinets, and bar code medication administration.

Silvester is a past president of both ASHP and the Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists. She is a past recipient of the Virginia Health-System Pharmacist of the Year award and the Pharmacy Alumnus Service Award from the Virginia Commonwealth University Medical College of Virginia Alumni Association.

She holds a B.S. in Pharmacy from the Medical College of Virginia, Virginia Commonwealth University; an MBA from James Madison University; and is currently enrolled in an external Doctor of Pharmacy program through Creighton University in Omaha, Neb.  
Established in 2001, ASHP’s Award for Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice recognizes individuals who have achieved excellence in health-system pharmacy practice leadership.

About ASHP
ASHP is the national professional organization whose nearly 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,



Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing