Press Release

Manasse to Receive ASHP's Donald E. Francke Medal

Former ASHP CEO Lauded for His Contributions to International Pharmacy


BETHESDA, Md. — Henri R. Manasse, Jr., Ph.D., Sc.D., has been named the recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP’s) 2012 Donald E. Francke Medal. Manasse will receive the award on Monday, December 3, 2012 during the Society’s 47th Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas.

Manasse is currently the Professional Secretary of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) and served as CEO of ASHP from 1996-2011. He has made significant international contributions to health-system pharmacy throughout his professional career. His efforts have led to the advancement of global professional health-system practice, the extension of pharmaceutical education and training, and greater awareness by other health professionals about the critical role of pharmacists in safe medication use.

“Dr. Manasse’s work across the globe spreading the word about how pharmacists can improve patient care has been instrumental in changing the hearts and minds of decision-makers in government, regulatory bodies, and the medical establishment,” said ASHP President Kathryn R. Schultz, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FASHP.
Manasse’s work has raised the visibility of health-system pharmacists as key players in the areas of medication misadventures and medication safety in many countries and World Health Organization regions. He has educated high-level government officials, health ministers, and university leaders in health facilities worldwide on the importance of safe medication use, and is a voracious public policy advocate for pharmacist services in caring for patients. 
Manasse was instrumental in the establishment of the North American Compact on the Advancement of Hospital Pharmacy, a partnership among ASHP, the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists, and the Mexican Association of Hospital Pharmacists, designed to improve the quality of care by advancing hospital pharmacy practice. He has served on the Council for the FIP for more than 10 years, served on a number of task forces, and has served as the Professional Secretary of the Board of Pharmaceutical Practice since 2005.
Manasse received his Bachelor of Science degree in pharmacy from the University of Illinois Medical Center, a Master of Arts degree in educational psychology from Loyola University of Chicago, and a doctorate in pharmacy administration from the University of Minnesota.  He was the recipient of ASHP’s 2007 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, the highest honor in health-system pharmacy.  He is the author of several books and has published extensively in the health sciences literature. The Francke Medal was established by the ASHP to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to international pharmacy practice. Francke, a key leader of ASHP in its formative years, was noted for his longtime service to American and international pharmacy. He served as editor of the American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy for 22 years and was the first American vice president of FIP’s Section of Hospital Pharmacists.

About ASHP
ASHP is the national professional organization whose nearly 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,



Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing