Press Release

ASHP Honors Pharmacists for Innovative Best Practices

Six Teams of Practitioners in Health-System Pharmacy Receive Esteemed Award


BETHESDA, Md. — Six teams of practitioners who successfully created and carried out innovative approaches to improve the delivery of patient care within their health systems were recognized today during the Opening General Session of the ASHP 47th Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas. Sponsored in cooperation with Amgen, the award recognizes pharmacists who demonstrate leadership in enhancing patient care and other areas of pharmacy practice.

“We are pleased to honor these individuals and the unique contributions they have made to pharmacy practice,” said ASHP President Kathryn R. Schultz, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FASHP.  “It is our hope that these innovative approaches to the pharmacy practice model will inspire other practitioners to take bold steps to improve patient care.” 

This year’s winners, chosen from a nationwide pool of applicants, are:
  • Advancing Pharmacy Practice through the Implementation of a Heart Failure Medication Management Clinic
    Maria M. Claudio, Pharm.D., BCPS, Qazi Halim, B.S., M.S., Linda Yee, Pharm.D., Saumya Mathew, Pharm.D., Elizabeth Watson, Pharm.D., BCPS, Wayne Gietz, M.A., Ankhnu Uaskhem, M.D.
    Brookdale Hospital Medical Center, Brooklyn, N.Y. 
  • Implementation of a Pharmacist-Led, Interprofessional Diabetes Management Team in an Inpatient Setting
    Anna M. Baldwin, Pharm.D., BCPS, Phil Ayers, Pharm.D., BCNSP, FASHP, Virginia Wallace, Pharm.D., BCPS, Carman R. Dixon III, Pharm.D., Laurie Warrington, Pharm.D., BC-ADM, BCACP, Krista D. Riche, Pharm.D., BCPS, Natalie Mosley, Pharm.D.
    Mississippi Baptist Health Systems, Jackson, Miss. 
  • Maximizing the Impact of Pharmacists Across Transitions of Care: Hematopoietic Cell Transplant as a Best Practice Opportunity for Clinical Pharmacists
    Kamakshi V. Rao, Pharm.D., BCOP, CPP, Tippu Khan, Pharm.D., BCOP, CPP, Lindsey B. Poppe, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS , Scott W. Savage, Pharm.D., M.S.
    University of North Carolina Hospitals and Clinics, Chapel Hill, N.C.
  • Proven Outcomes in Diabetic Transitions of Care for Post-operative Cardiac Surgery Patients using Pharmacists as Providers
    Jan Chow, Pharm.D., BCPS, Kimberly Russell, Pharm.D., BCPS, Jennifer Tryon, Pharm.D., M.S., Michael Barsotti, M.D., Juli Adelman, R.D., CDE
    PeaceHealth Southwest Medical Center, Vancouver, Wash.
  • Raising the Bar on Antimicrobial Stewardship: The Evolution of a Comprehensive Program Model Using a Multifaceted, Rapid Sequence Approach
    Benjamin D. Brielmaier, Pharm.D., BCPS (AQ-ID), Natasha N. Pettit, Pharm.D., BCPS, Emily Landon, M.D., Jennifer Pisano, M.D., Palak Bhagat, Pharm.D., BCPS, Allison Bartlett, M.D., Dave Hicks, R.Ph., M.B.A., Heath R. Jennings, Pharm.D., BCPS (AQ-Cardiology)
    The University of Chicago Medicine, Chicago, Ill.
  • Redefining a Rural Pharmacy Practice: Developing a Progressive Patient Centered Pharmacy Practice Model
    John Worden, M.S., Pharm.D., BCPS, Mary Kate Blankenship, Pharm.D., Cheryl Anderson, CPhT, Jessica Hanson, CPhT, Robert Geiser, R.Ph., Terri Gehring RHIT
    McPherson Hospital, McPherson, Kan.
ASHP established the award in 1999 to recognize and foster innovation in health-system pharmacy. Award recipients presented posters of their program during a reception last night in New Orleans. Summaries of their programs are available online at

About ASHP
ASHP is the national professional organization whose nearly 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing