Press Release

ASHP Honors Sections and New Practitioners Forum Members with Distinguished Service Award

Six Health-System Pharmacists Honored for Commitment to the Profession


BETHESDA, Md. —The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) today recognized six members for their participation in volunteer activities that helped advance health-system pharmacy with the Society’s Pharmacy Practice Sections and New Practitioners Forum Distinguished Service Award.

The award recipients were honored at a reception during ASHP’s 47th Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas. The award is given to one member of each of ASHP’s pharmacy practice sections and the New Practitioners Forum for their sustained contribution to their membership group and efforts to improve the practice area of their sections or forum. 

“These dedicated professionals are an important part of ASHP’s efforts on behalf of patients and the profession,” said ASHP President Kathryn Schultz, Pharm.D., M.P.H., FASHP. “We are pleased to recognize their contributions to ASHP, their communities, and especially, their patients.”
This year’s recipients of the award are: 
  • Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists
    Kelly M. Smith, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP, FCCP, Associate Dean, Academic and Student Affairs and Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Science, University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy.
  • Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners
    Marc H. Stranz, Pharm.D., Vice President, Clinical Operations, Bioscrip.
  • Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners
    Debra L. P. Cowan, Pharm.D., FASHP, Director of Pharmacy, Angel Medical Center.
  • Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology
    Brent I. Fox, Pharm.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor, Pharmacy Care Systems, Harrison School of Pharmacy, Auburn University.
  • Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers
    Kathleen S. Pawlicki, M.S., FASHP, Administrative Director of Professional Services, and Director of Pharmaceutical Services, William Beaumont Hospital.
  • New Practitioners Forum
    John B. Hertig, M.S., Pharm.D., Medication Safety Project Manager and Assistant Clinical Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Center for Medication Safety Advancement, Purdue University College of Pharmacy.

ASHP’s sections and forums provide members with a practice community that offer a wide range of valuable resources, including specialized educational programming, practice-specific news and information, and a variety of networking and leadership opportunities. The member groups tackle important practice issues such as leadership, translating scientific advances in drug therapy, and improving health outcomes through the use and integration of technology. Pharmacy students are represented by the ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum. 

About ASHP
ASHP is the national professional organization whose nearly 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,



Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing