Press Release

ASHP Honors Members for Practice Excellence, Leadership

Fify-One Pharmacists Designated Fellows of the Society


Fifty-one health-system pharmacists have been given the title “Fellow” by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) in recognition of the excellence they have achieved in pharmacy practice.  The 2013 Fellows will be honored on Tuesday, June 4, 2013, during the ASHP Summer Meeting & Exhibition in Minneapolis.
The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program rewards excellence in pharmacy practice by granting recognition and promoting public awareness of pharmacists who have distinguished themselves in hospital and health-system pharmacy.  Members who have achieved FASHP status have successfully demonstrated sustained commitment or contributions to excellence in practice for at least 10 years, contributed to the total body of knowledge in the field, demonstrated active involvement and leadership in ASHP and other professional organizations, and have been actively involved in and committed to educating practitioners and others. The program has recognized 771 Fellows since it began in 1988.
The 2013 Fellows are:
  • Robert T. Adamson, Pharm.D., Barnabas Health, Livingston, NJ
  • Michelle E. Allen, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCM, Palm Drive Hospital/Memorial Hospital, Sebastopol, CA
  • Adrienne L. Au, Pharm.D., M.S., Temple University Hospital, Philadelphia, PA
  • Terry L. Audley, B.S. Pharm., Froedtert Health Community Memorial Hospital, Menomonee Falls, WI
  • Randell L. Ball, B.S. Pharm., M.B.A., Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth, Fort Worth, TX
  • Sara J. Beis, B.S. Pharm., M.S., NewHealth Collaborative, Summa Health System, Akron, OH
  • Christopher Betz, Pharm.D., BCPS, Sullivan University College of Pharmacy, Louisville, KY
  • Jennifer L. Brandt, Pharm.D., MedStar Washington Hospital Center, Washington, DC
  • Michael L. Brandt, B.S., Pharm.D., Kootenai Medical Center, Coeur D'Alene, ID
  • Deborah A. Brown, M.S., Pharm.D., Cardinal Health, Houston, TX
  • Kristina L. Butler, B.S. Pharm., Pharm.D., BCPS, Providence Medical Group/Providence Health & Services, Portland, OR
  • Samuel V. Calabrese, B.S. Pharm., BSBA, M.B.A., Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH
  • Sian M. Carr-Lopez, Pharm.D., Thomas J. Long School of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, University of the Pacific, Stockton, CA
  • Craig I. Coleman, Pharm.D., University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy, Hartford, CT
  • Curtis D. Collins, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS (AQ-ID), St. Joseph Mercy Health System, Ypsilanti, MI
  • Kathleen D. Donley, B.S. Pharm., M.B.A., Akron General Medical Center/Akron General Health System, Akron, OH
  • David A. Ehlert, B.S. Pharm., Pharm.D., McKesson, Golden Valley, MN
  • Lynn E. Eschenbacher, Pharm.D., M.B.A., WakeMed Health & Hospitals, Raleigh, NC
  • Lynn Ethridge, Pharm.D., Greenville Health System, Greenville, SC
  • Ronald A. Floyd, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, FCCP, FCSHP, Sharp Mary Birch Hospital for Women and Newborns, San Diego, CA
  • Christopher R. Fortier, Pharm.D., Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC
  • Tad A. Gomez, B.S. Pharm., M.S., Georgia Regents Health System, Augusta, GA
  • Susan Goodin, Pharm.D., BCOP, The Cancer Institute of New Jersey UMDNJ/Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick, NJ
  • James M. Hoffman, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, TN
  • Arlene M. Iglar, B.S. Pharm., M.S., Aurora Health Care, Milwaukee, WI
  • Brian I. Kawahara, Pharm.D., M.M., Veterans Administration, Loma Linda, CA
  • Susan M. Kleppin, B.S. Pharm., CPHQ, Optum, Madison, WI
  • Despina Kotis, Pharm.D., Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago, IL
  • Eric C. Kutscher, Pharm.D., BCPP, South Dakota State University and Avera Behavioral Health Center, Sioux Falls, SD
  • Jeannie K. Lee, Pharm.D., BCPS, CGP, University of Arizona College of Pharmacy and College of Medicine, Tucson, AZ
  • Julie C. Lenhart, B.S. Pharm., M.S., FCSHP, Kaiser Permanente, Pleasanton, CA
  • John J. Lewin III, Pharm.D., M.B.A., The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, MD
  • James M. Lile, B.S., Pharm.D., St. Mary’s of Michigan, Saginaw, MI
  • Eric J. MacLaughlin, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Amarillo, TX
  • Miriam A. Mobley Smith, B.S. Pharm., Pharm.D., Chicago State University College of Pharmacy, Chicago, IL
  • Candis M. Morello, Pharm.D., CDE, FCSHP, University of California San Diego, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, La Jolla, CA
  • Darrell R. Newcomer, B.S. Pharm., M.S., Medical Center Arlington, Arlington, TX
  • Edward G. Nold, B.S. Pharm., M.S., Cardinal Health Pharmacy Solutions, Houston, TX 
  • Edna Patatanian, Pharm.D., Southwestern Oklahoma State University College of Pharmacy, Weatherford, OK
  • Kamakshi V. Rao, Pharm.D., BCOP, CPP, University of North Carolina Hospitals and Clinics, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Christopher M. Scott, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCM, Wishard Health Services/Eskenazi Health, Indianapolis, IN
  • Suellyn J. Sorensen, Pharm.D., BCPS, St. Vincent Hospitals and Health System, Indianapolis, IN
  • Stephen E. Stoner, B.S. Pharm., Pharm.D., BCPS, Providence Health and Services, Portland, OR
  • Edward G. Szandzik, B.S. Pharm., M.B.A., Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit, MI
  • Scott H. Takahashi, Pharm.D., FCSHP, Kaiser Permanente Los Angeles Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA
  • Ross W. Thompson, M.S., R.Ph., Tufts Medical Center, Boston, MA
  • Christopher J. Urbanski, B.S. Pharm., M.S., Indiana University Health, Frankfort, IN
  • Gwen R. Volpe, B.S. Pharm., R.Ph., LSS BB, Omnicell, St. John, IN
  • Jerome W. Wohleb, Pharm.D., M.B.A., Bryan Medical Center, Lincoln, NE
  • Billy W. Woodward, B.S. Pharm., R.Ph., Renaissance Pharmacy Services, Ltd., Temple, TX
  • Marc T. Young, B.S. Pharm., Pharm.D., BCPS, PMP, United States Navy, San Antonio, TX
For information about the ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program or to request an application, contact Information, program criteria, and forms are also available on ASHP’s website. The deadline for receipt of 2014 applications is October 1, 2013.

About ASHP
ASHP is the national professional organization whose 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing