Press Release

Carmichael to Receive 2013 Whitney Award

Highest Honor in Health-System Pharmacy Recognizes Carmichael’s Outstanding Contributions


Jannet M. Carmichael, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCP, FAPhA, a noted health-system pharmacy leader, is the recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacy’s (ASHP’s) 2013 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award. Dr. Carmichael will receive the award on June 4 during ASHP's Summer Meeting in Minneapolis.
Dr. Carmichael is the Veterans Integrated Service Network (VISN) Pharmacy Executive for VISN 21, where she coordinates safe and cost effective use of medications through pharmacy services, formulary management and health analytics in a network of VA Health Care Systems in Northern California, Northern Nevada, and Hawaii. VISN 21 pharmacy services are provided to 400,000 veterans in 48 geographic sites of care (8 VA Medical Center Divisions and 40 outpatient centers). VISN 21 employs 350 pharmacists and 200 pharmacy technicians.
During her 30 year career with the VA Healthcare System, Dr. Carmichael has made significant contributions to the system’s progressive pharmacy practice model, including the use of quality metrics to improve patient care and patient safety while lowering health care costs. She oversaw the development of pharmacist-run primary care and inpatient clinic at the VA Sierra Nevada Healthcare System, a program that received ASHP’s Best Practices in Health-System Pharmacy Award in 2002.
In her current role, she leads clinical pharmacy management initiatives that contribute to optimal prescribing practices for a variety of conditions, including diabetes, hypertension, hyperlipidemia, metabolic syndrome, anticoagulation, pain management, oncology, infectious disease, osteoporosis and coordinates initiatives to improve patient care and drug safety.  She is also responsible for the VISN 21 Clinical Data Warehouse, Health Analytics, Pharmacoeconomic and Pharmacoepidemiology programs.  Dr. Carmichael is the Pharmacy Residency Director for the VISN 21 PGY2 Managed Care System residency program, which offers specialized training in pharmacoepidemiology and health care analytics.  She has trained over 75 PGY1 and PGY2 residents during her career.
In addition to her leadership roles in the VA, Dr. Carmichael has authored hundreds of professional papers, book chapters and research projects throughout her career. She is co-author of the IMPROVE research project, a multi-center study of the clinical and economic benefits of clinical pharmacist interventions in VA Medical Centers. She is a frequent speaker on progressive pharmacy practice throughout the country.
An active member of national and state pharmacy associations, Dr. Carmichael is a past president of ASHP, past chair of the ASHP Research and Education Foundation, past member of the Commission on Credentialing and currently serves on PPMI planning and implementation groups.  She has served as president of the Nevada Pharmacy Alliance and the Nevada Pharmaceutical Association.
Dr. Carmichael also participates as a member of numerous professional boards and committees. She was chair of the BCPS Pharmacotherapy Council and a member of the Board of Directors of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS), serving as Board Chair from 2007-2009.  She served on the Nevada Board of Pharmacy and is a member of the Accreditation Council on Pharmaceutical Education’s (ACPE) site evaluation teams for accrediting schools of pharmacy. She served on the National Quality Forum (NQF) Medication Management Steering Committee and was a member of the technical expert panel for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) Maintenance and Development of Medication Measures initiative.
Dr. Carmichael received a bachelor of science in pharmacy from the University of Iowa and a Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of the Pacific. She is a past “Pharmacist of the Year” recipient from the Nevada Society of Health-System Pharmacists, has received the Bowl of Hygeia Award, the University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni Award, the APhA Distinguished Federal Pharmacist Award and the Robert G. Leonard Memorial Award.  She is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (BCPS), a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA) and a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP).
ASHP has administered the Harvey A. K. Whitney Lecture Award, established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, since 1963. Harvey A. K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy. Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members. The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.
About ASHP
ASHP is the national professional organization whose 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing