Press Release

ASHP Awards Harold N. Godwin Honorary Membership

Visionary Leader in Health-System Pharmacy Honored


The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) has named Harold N. Godwin, M.S., FASHP, FAPhA, an honorary member of the Society for his sustained contributions to health-system pharmacy practice and dedicated service to the organization. Godwin received the honor today during the Society’s Summer Meeting in Minneapolis.
Godwin is widely recognized as a leader in health-system pharmacy and has a long history of service to ASHP, serving in a variety of leadership roles, including as president (1982-1983), a member of the Board of Directors (1978-1981), a member of the Board of Directors of the ASHP Research and Education Foundation (2002-2006), and as chair of the Commission on Credentialing (1977-1979).
Godwin has also served in leadership roles for other regional and national pharmacy organizations, including as a member of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (2012-2014), president of the American Pharmacists Association (2010-2011), president of the Board of Directors for the American Council for Pharmacy Education (1992-1996), president of the Kansas Pharmacists Association (1977), and as a member of the Board of Directors of the Ohio Society of Health-System Pharmacists (1966-1969). He currently serves as professor and associate dean at the University of Kansas.
Godwin’s professional accomplishments include being responsible for the development of a comprehensive pharmacy service program at an academic medical center, including a nationally recognized residency program in pharmacy management. Godwin was also instrumental in the development of systems and education for pharmacists to assume responsibility for intravenous admixture compounding in hospitals throughout the U.S.  Godwin is widely recognized for his career-long involvement in pharmacy education and was influential in the adoption of the doctorate degree standard for the profession and development of health-system practice and community practice residency programs.
Godwin has also served in a number of key leadership positions, including chairman, department of pharmacy practice, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy (1984-2006); associate dean of pharmacy for clinical and medical center affairs, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy (1989-present); assistant dean of pharmacy for medical center affairs, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy (1975-1989); and director of pharmacy, University of Kansas Medical Center (1969-2004).
Godwin has received numerous honors and awards, including ASHP’s Harvey A. K. Whitney Lecture Award in 1991, the Clifton J. Latiolais Award in 1986, the John W. Webb Visiting Professorship Award in 1999 from the College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions at Northeastern University, Kansas Pharmacist of the Year in 2010 and 1982, and Kansas Hospital Pharmacist of the Year in 1982. Godwin was honored in 2004 by the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy and University of Kansas Medical Center as the first recipient of the Annual Harold N. Godwin Leadership Legacy Award, and in 1984 by the establishment of the Harold N. Godwin Lecture Award by the Kansas Society of Health-System Pharmacists.
About ASHP
ASHP is the national professional organization whose 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing