Press Release

Maddox to Receive ASHP's John W. Webb Lecture Award

Long-Time Leader in Health-System Pharmacy Honored


The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) has named Ray R. Maddox, Pharm.D. FASHP, the recipient of the 2013 John W. Webb Lecture Award.

Maddox serves as director of clinical pharmacy, research & pulmonary medicine for the St. Joseph's/Candler Health System in Savannah, Ga. He was a member of the faculty of the Colleges of Pharmacy and Medicine at the Medical University of South Carolina from 1977 until 1982. In this position, Maddox led the development of one of the earliest comprehensive clinical pharmacokinetic services.

Maddox joined the pharmacy administrative staff of Emory University Hospital in Atlanta in 1982 where he subsequently became the director of pharmaceutical services. From 1987 until 1992 he was chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences at Idaho State University. While at Idaho State, Maddox helped to develop and implement the Doctor of Pharmacy program and the non-traditional Pharm.D. degree which was made available to applicants across the United States.

Maddox is actively involved in clinical service development and research and has been an advocate and innovator in the implementation of hospital medication safety technology. His contributions include the early adoption of bedside medication barcode and system-wide implementation of i.v. “smart pump” technology for large and small volume fluids.

Other innovations include implementing smart pump technology for patient-controlled analgesia (PCA) that improves safety by incorporating continuous respiratory monitoring with pulse oximetry and capnography.

Maddox is extensively involved in professional practice and educational organizations and has served in leadership positions with ASHP and the Board of Pharmacy Specialties where he was chair from 1989 to 1991. He also serves in various capacities in state and local professional societies and is a past-president of the Georgia Society of Health-System Pharmacists. He has developed and implemented advanced practice residency programs throughout his career at all of the sites at which he has practiced.

Maddox is involved in his community and commits much of his time to philanthropic and international mission efforts through local programs as well as the Faith in Practice Medical Mission to Guatemala for which he serves as a member of the Board of Directors and medical team leader. He has led more than 30 medical and surgical teams to Guatemala over the last 15 years.  He is actively engaged in his church and has held numerous leadership positions in his congregation.
Maddox, a native of Savannah, graduated with a baccalaureate degree in pharmacy from the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.  He completed a post-graduate residency in hospital pharmacy practice at the Medical University of South Carolina.  He completed the Doctor of Pharmacy degree and clinical pharmacy residency training at the University of Kentucky. 
Maddox has been recognized with a number of awards throughout his career, including being named as an ASHP Fellow in 1998 and receiving the University of Kentucky’s Paul F. Parker Award.
The Webb Award honors health-system pharmacy practitioners or educators who stand apart from others because of their extraordinary dedication to fostering excellence in pharmacy management and leadership.
The award, previously called the John W. Webb Visiting Professorship in Hospital Pharmacy, was established in 1985 by the Northeastern University College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions in Boston. The now-named Northeastern University School of Pharmacy in the Bouvé College of Health Sciences transferred responsibility for administering the award to ASHP in 2006. ASHP’s Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers administers the award process with continuing involvement by Northeastern.
Maddox will present his award lecture in October 2013 at the ASHP Conference for Leaders in Health-System Pharmacy and as visiting professor in hospital pharmacy at Northeastern University.
ASHP is the national professional organization whose 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP's website,, or its consumer website,


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing