Press Release

ASHP Presents Distinguished Service Awards to Six Members

ASHP Members Recognized for Advancing Mission of Sections, New Practitioners Forum


ASHP today recognized the efforts of six practitioners with the Pharmacy Practice Sections and New Practitioners Forum (NPF) Distinguished Service Award. The awards were presented at a reception during ASHP’s 51st Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Las Vegas. The award recognizes an outstanding member from each section and the NPF, honoring pharmacists whose volunteer activities have helped to advance the profession.

The 2016 recipients include the following:

Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners
Gloria Sachdev, Pharm.D., FASHP

Gloria Sachdev is President and CEO of the Employers’ Forum of Indiana as well as Clinical Assistant Professor at Purdue College of Pharmacy and Adjunct Assistant Professor at Indiana University School of Medicine. Dr. Sachdev is Chair of the ASHP Council on Public Policy, a member of the AJHP Editorial Advisory Board, and a past Director-at-Large of the Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners.

Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists
Linda Gore Martin, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS, FASHP

Linda Gore Martin is Professor Emeritus of Social and Administrative Pharmacy at the University of Wyoming. She retired as the Dean of the School of Pharmacy in January 2016 and now maintains a practice at the Downtown Clinic in Laramie. Dr. Martin is a founder of the Wyoming Society of Health-System Pharmacy (WSHP), where she served as WSHP President, as a member of the Board of Directors, and for 12 years as Secretary-Treasurer. She has served in the ASHP House of Delegates since 1993 and is a member of the Section’s Advisory Group on Clinical Leadership.  

Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners

Noelle RM Chapman, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP

Noelle Chapman is the Pharmacy Operations Manager and PGY1 Residency Program Director at Northwestern Memorial Hospital. In her position, she is responsible for inpatient operations, clinical services in both the inpatient and outpatient settings, and oversight of the PGY1 and PGY2 pharmacy residency programs. Dr. Chapman is a past Chair and Director-at-Large of the Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners, a member of the Council on Pharmacy Practice, and Northern Region Director of the Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacy.

Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology
Allen Flynn, Pharm.D.

Allen Flynn is a Research Analyst in the Division of Learning and Knowledge Systems at the Department of Learning Health Sciences of the University of Michigan Medical School. In that role, he leads a software development team that is creating a new digital web-services library platform. Dr. Flynn is a past Chair of the Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology and has served as Vice Chair of the Section’s Advisory Group (SAG) on Clinical Information Systems and as a member of the SAG on Professional Development.

Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers

Robert P. Granko, Pharm.D., M.B.A.

Robert P. Granko is the Director of Pharmacy at The Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital in Greensboro, N.C. He is also the Director for the Cone Health Network Health-System Pharmacy Administration/M.S. PGY-2 Residency Program and maintains an academic appointment at the University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy. Dr. Granko is a faculty member with the ASHP Managers Boot Camp, a past Chair of the Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers’ Advisory Group (SAG) on Manager Development, a current member of the SAG on Management of the Pharmacy Enterprise, and has served as a North Carolina delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates.

New Practitioners Forum
Brandon R. Shank, Pharm.D., BCOP

Brandon Shank is a Clinical Pharmacy Specialist at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and Adjunct Clinical Assistant Professor at Texas Southern University in Houston, Texas. Dr. Shank served on the Pharmacy Student Forum Executive Committee, is a past Chair of the New Practitioners Forum, and is a member of the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists Advisory Group on Emerging Sciences. Dr. Shank is a co-editor and author of Demystifying Drug Dosing in Obese Patients and has authored several abstracts and peer-reviewed publications in the areas of oncology and pharmacy practice.

For more information on the award, visit the Distinguished Service Award page on ASHP’s website.

About ASHP

ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s more than 43,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For over 70 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,
# # #


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing