Press Release

ASHP Announces 2016 Awards

Pharmacy Organization Honors Practice Excellence, Outstanding Contributions to Healthcare


ASHP will recognize the achievements of an accomplished group of healthcare practitioners with the organization’s 2016 Board of Directors’ Awards. The following awards will be presented during ceremonies at ASHP’s national meetings:

Honorary Membership (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2016)

Honorary membership in ASHP is bestowed upon individuals who have made outstanding contributions to pharmacy practice. 

  • R. David Anderson, B.S. Pharmacy, Sc.D. (Hon.), Director of Pharmacy Services, Waynesboro Community Hospital (retired), Waynesboro, Va.
  • Toby Clark, M.Sc., FASHP, FFIP, Pharmacy Director and Professor of Pharmacy Practice, University of Illinois at Chicago Medical Center and College of Pharmacy (retired), Chicago; Clinical Associate Professor, South Carolina College of Pharmacy; and Principal and Medication Systems Consultant, Toby Clark, Inc., Charleston, S.C. (awarded posthumously)  
    Award of Excellence (ASHP Summer Meetings, June 2016)

      The ASHP Award of Excellence recognizes contributions to excellence in pharmacy practice in acute and ambulatory care settings.

      • Geisinger Health System Medication Therapy Disease Management Program, Danville, Pa.
        Distinguished Leadership Award(51st Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2016)

          The ASHP Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes the contributions of practitioners who have achieved excellence in pharmacy practice leadership.

          • Mary Ann Kliethermes, B.S. Pharm., Pharm.D., Vice-Chair, Ambulatory Care and Professor of Pharmacy Practice, Midwestern University - Chicago College of Pharmacy, Downers Grove, Ill.
          Donald E. Francke Medal (51st Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2016)
            The ASHP Donald E. Francke Medal honors pharmacists who have made significant international contributions to advance pharmacy practice.
            • Lee C. Vermeulen, B.S. Pharm., M.S., FCCP, FFIP, Director, Center for Clinical Knowledge Management, UW Health; and Clinical Professor of Pharmacy, University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Pharmacy, Madison, Wis.
            About ASHP

            ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s more than 43,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For over 70 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,

            # # #


            Contact Us
            For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
            ASHP Product Listing