News Capsules

Degenhart to Receive 2016 Whitney Award


Sister Mary Louise Degenhart, ASC, M.B.A., FASHP, special assistant to the president at St. Louis College of Pharmacy, and a former pharmacy administrator who was instrumental in the growth of pharmacy residency programs, has been named the recipient of ASHP’s 2016 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award.

The annual Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health-system pharmacy. The award is considered to be the highest honor in the profession.

Degenhart, a member of the religious community of Adorers of the Blood of Christ and a former ASHP staff member, was selected in recognition of her sustained contributions to postgraduate residency training and pharmacy technician training programs. For nearly three decades, she has devoted her professional efforts to the growth and development of pharmacy training programs by conducting numerous accreditation surveys, advancing accreditation standards, and providing leadership through the ASHP’s Commission on Credentialing activities.

Sister Mary Louise is an active leader in professional organizations and was one of the founders of the Southern Illinois Society of Hospital Pharmacists and the Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists.

ASHP has administered the Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, since 1963. Harvey A.K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy. Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members. The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.

Sister Mary Louise will receive the award on June 14 during ASHP's Summer Meetings in Baltimore.

# # #


Contact Us
For questions, comments, or more information on this article, please contact the Public Relations Office via telephone at 301-664-8799 or via email at
ASHP Product Listing