ASHP 2016 Election

Welcome to ASHP's gateway for online voting for the ASHP 2016 Official Board and Section Elections. Ballots were sent to all eligible voters June 29, 2016 via email (for those who previously consented to receive the information via email) or U.S. Mail. Voters are encouraged to vote online. Eligible members of ASHP's Sections may also vote for section leaders. Please note that although members may join more than one section, only one may be chosen to be the primary section in which members may vote. Your ASHP ballot has been customized for you. Your ballot contains the names of candidates for only those section candidates for whom you are allowed to vote. If you have any questions, please email ASHP Customer Relations at

Begin Voting Process

Voting Information

  • To proceed with online voting, you will need your ASHP Member I.D. Number and your Election Validation Number found in the email ballot notification sent June 29, 2016 (for those who previously consented to receive the information via email) or at the top of your mailed ballot.
  • To vote online, click the "Begin Voting Process" above.
  • Voting closes at 12:00 midnight, ET, July 28, 2016.
  • Results are scheduled to be posted mid-August.

Virtual Meet the Candidates on ASHP Connect

Participate in the ASHP Connect Virtual Meet the Candidates Election Community where candidates for the Board of Directors and Section Executive Committees will post responses to a variety of questions. The Q&A will be a moderated discussion and the questions will be asked by the moderator. A schedule of each election community is as follows:

ASHP 2016 Slate of Candidates

General Election

Meet the Candidates

Hear the General Election candidates' perspectives on the challenges and opportunities that face ASHP and your profession and their vision for the society in addressing these challenges. Click candidate names below to listen to audio recordings in MP3 format.

President (2017-2018)

Paul W. Bush, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS, FASHP
Durham, NC

Kelly M. Smith, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCCP
Lexington, KY

Board of Directors Candidates (2017-2020)

Stephen F. Eckel, Pharm.D., M.H.A., BCPS, FASHP
Chapel Hill, NC

Seena L. Haines, Pharm.D., BCACP, BC-ADM, CDE, FAPhA, FASHP
Jackson, MS

Nishaminy (Nish) Kasbekar, Pharm.D., B.S., FASHP
Philadelphia, PA

Linda S. Tyler, Pharm.D., FASHP
Salt Lake City, UT

Treasurer (2016-2019)

Thomas J. Johnson, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCCCP, BCPS, FASHP, FCCM
Sioux Falls, SD

Kathleen S. Pawlicki, M.S., R.Ph., FASHP
Royal Oak, MI

Questions and Answers


If you would like to subscribe to the Podcasts, copy this and paste it into your favorite podcasting tool (e.g., iTunes, iPodder).

Sections Election

Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners
Chair (2017-2018)

Binita Patel, Pharm.D., M.S.
Milwaukee, WI

Laura Traynor, Pharm.D., BCPS
Mequon, WI

Director-at-Large (2017-2019)

Joshua Fleming, Pharm.D., BCACP
Jackson, MS

Jessica Skelley, Pharm.D., BCACP
Birmingham, AL

Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists
Chair (2017-2018)

Kim Benner, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP, FPPAG
Birmingham, AL

Jason J. Schafer, Pharm.D., M.P.H., BCPS, AAHIVP
Philadelphia, PA

Director-at-Large (2017-2019)

Douglas Slain, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP
Morgantown, WV

Kersten Weber-Tatarelis, Pharm.D., BCPS-AQ ID
Downers Grove, IL

Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners
Chair (2017-2018)

Molly Billstein Leber, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP
New Haven, CT

Linda M. Spooner, Pharm.D., BCPS-AQ ID, FASHP
Worcester, MA

Director-at-Large (2017-2019)

Denise C. Fields, Pharm.D., FASHP
Columbus, IN

Paul E. Milligan, Pharm.D.
St. Louis, MO

Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology
Chair (2017-2018)

Joseph J. Lassiter, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, CPHIMS
Lake Oswego, OR

Gwen R. Volpe, R.Ph., LSS Black Belt, FASHP
St. John, IN

Director-at-Large (2017-2019)

Seth W. Hartman, Pharm.D.
Portland, OR

Eric C. Nemec, Pharm.D., BCPS
Springfield, MA

Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers
Chair (2017-2018)

Robert P. Granko, Pharm.D., M.B.A.
Greensboro, NC

Jennifer Tryon, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP
Winston-Salem, NC

Director-at-Large (2017-2019)

Philip W. Brummond, Pharm.D., M.S.
Milwaukee, WI

Bonnie Levin, Pharm.D., M.B.A.
Columbia, MD

Guidelines on ASHP Election Communications

ASHP Product Listing