ASHP Student Leadership Award

The ASHP Student Leadership Award Program recognizes students with an interest in pharmacy practice in health-systems who have demonstrated leadership ability. This program recognizes and celebrates the contributions of students who represent the very best attributes and accomplishments of ASHP student members. ASHP offers up to twelve awards annually. Pharmacy students in the second through fourth professional years are eligible to apply. The award consists of:

  • An award plaque,
  • An ASHP drug information reference library, and
  • A $2000 cash award provided by the ASHP Research and Education Foundation.

Application Instructions

Please follow the steps below to apply for the 2015-16 Student Leadership Award. To be accepted, all application materials must be received by ASHP no later than 11:59 pm ET on January 30.

To apply for the Student Leadership Award, please follow the appropriate application link below:

To be considered for the SLA, using the appropriate applicant link, you will be expected to submit the following:
  • A completed Professional Activities questionnaire.
  • An essay of no more than 750 words conveying your thoughts on how, as a student leader, you would increase awareness and understanding of the Practice Advancement Initiative (formerly the Pharmacy Practice Model Initiative)among student colleagues.
  • Three letters of recommendations: one from a faculty member, one from a pharmacist practitioner, and one from a student peer.
  • Three corresponding Recommendation Forms signed by each recommender.
  • A resume or curriculum vitae.
  • A completed Certification and Acceptance signature page.

If you have any questions, please contact ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum: at


2015-2016 Award Recipients for Student Leadership Award

Class of 2016

Danielle BeltzDanielle Beltz
Northeastern Ohio Medical University College of Pharmacy

Jillian DeGuzmanJillian DeGuzman
Palm Beach Atlantic University Lloyd L. Gregory School of Pharmacy

Valerie NoltValerie Nolt
University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy

Tyler VestTyler Vest
University of Cincinnati James L. Winkle College of Pharmacy

Mary VincentMary Vincent
The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy

Class of 2017

Evan ColmenaresEvan Colmenares
University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy-Chapel Hill Campus

Kiri GolleherKiri Golleher
Pacific University School of Pharmacy

Brian HancockBrian Hancock
University of Charleston School of Pharmacy

Katherine SencionKatherine Sencion
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy

Class of 2018

Emilie BergsmaEmilie Bergsma
University of Florida College of Pharmacy-Gainesville Campus

Dena LehmannDena Lehmann
Thomas Jefferson University Jefferson School of Pharmacy

Past Student Leadership Award Winners


ASHP Product Listing