





In the Spotlight
2009 Distinguished Service Award Winner
Jennifer P. Askew, BS, Pharm.D., CPP
Manager, Outpatient Pharmacy Services
New Hanover Regional Medical Center
Wilmington, NC

Jennifer Askew, BS, Pharm.D., CPP is the Manager of Outpatient/Employee Pharmacy Services for New Hanover Regional Medical Center in Wilmington, NC. Dr. Askew received her Bachelor of Science in Biology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2000) and her Doctorate of Pharmacy from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (2003). She has completed a Primary Care Specialty Residency with Coastal AHEC & New Hanover Regional Medical Center in Wilmington, NC and the ACCP Heart Failure Traineeship with UNC Hospitals. She has recently completed the Latiolais Leadership Program at the Ohio State University and precepts students and residents in Introductory and Advanced Hospital and Community Practice Experiences as well as Practice Management Rotations.

Jennifer is active on both local and national levels through membership with the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists (ASHP), North Carolina Association of Pharmacists (NCAP), International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP), and American Pharmacists Association (APhA). She is currently serving as member of the Educational Steering Committee for the ASHP Section of Home, Ambulatory, and Chronic Care Practitioners and is a member of the ASHP Foundation Student and New Practitioner Leadership Task Force. She is also the Chair-Elect for the NCAP Community Care Practice Forum and the Chair of the NCAP Emergency Preparedness Task Force. She is also serving as the Immediate-Past Chair of the NCAP New Practitioners Network and a member of the NCAP Leadership Development Task Force and the NCAP Education Committee this year. Jennifer has also recently served terms as the Chair of the Ambulatory Care Guidelines Advisory Group for ASHP and as a member of the Board of Directors for NCAP.

Dr. Askew began her association involvement at the national level by representing the University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Pharmacy in the ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition, in which her team received first place in 2002. She has recently received the honors of the 2008 Distinguished Young Pharmacist for North Carolina and the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy Hospital Preceptor of the Year for 2008. She has also served on the ASHP New Practitioners Forum Executive Committee for three years, including one year as Chair and

one as Vice-Chair. She was an alternate delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates in 2004 and 2008 and a delegate in 2005 and 2006 as well as a delegate to the APhA House of Delegates in 2007 and 2008. She is an active participant with the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee at her institution and volunteers in the pharmacy at Tileston Outreach Health Center, a local free clinic, where she also serves on the Board of Directors and maintains a clinical practice in mental health.