

## In the Spotlight



## 2014 Distinguished Service Award Winner

Tricia A. Meyer M.S., Pharm.D., FASHP Associate Vice President Baylor Scott & White Health Temple, TX

Tricia A. Meyer is the Associate Vice President (AVP) for the Department of Pharmacy at Baylor Scott and White Health in Temple, Texas. She is an Associate Professor of Anesthesiology for the Texas A&M College of Medicine and Adjunct Associate Professor for the Texas A&M Rangel College of Pharmacy. She received her Bachelor of Pharmacy with honors from the University of Texas, Master of Science from Texas State University and her Doctorate of Pharmacy from Shenandoah University. Dr. Meyer's professional career has been spent at the same hospital system where she has worked as a staff pharmacist, supervisor, assistant director, director, senior director and currently AVP.

Dr. Meyer is an active member of the American Society Health-System Pharmacists having served as Director-at-Large for the Section for Clinical Specialists and Scientists (SCSS). She represented the SCSS on the Joint Section/Forum PPMI Coordinating Committee. Dr. Meyer was also appointed to the 2014 ASHP Council on Pharmacy Management. Dr. Meyer was involved in the ASHP Section Advisory Group for Investigational Drug Services. She serves as a judge for the ASHP Literature Awards, Best Practices Award and was also awarded the Best Practices Award in 2000. She is participating in the revision of the ASHP Guidelines on Surgery and Anesthesiology Pharmaceutical Services. She received the Abbott National Quality Award in 1998 and 1999 and the Organon Leadership Award in Hospital Pharmacy in 1998. Dr. Meyer is recognized as an ASHP Fellow.

Dr. Meyer is a member of the Texas Society of Health System Pharmacists and serves as a member on the Educational Affairs Committee, delegate to ASHP, and was recognized as a Fellow for TSHP. She has served as the Heart of Texas Society of Health System Pharmacy president.

Dr. Meyer's clinical interest is in the field of anesthesiology where she has published and conducted numerous research studies. She was appointed as the first pharmacist to the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation and currently serves on the Education and Training Committee. She regularly contributes to the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation Newsletter on perioperative medication safety. She served as the co-chair for the 2003 and 2007 Consensus Panel on the Guidelines for Management of Postoperative

Nausea and Vomiting. The guidelines, endorsed by the Society of Ambulatory Anesthesia, were updated and the 3<sup>rd</sup> guidelines were published in Anesthesia & Analgesia in January 2014. Dr. Meyer was recommended by ASHP and appointed by CMS to a Technical Expert Panel Member for Ambulatory Surgery Measure development.