





In the Spotlight

2009 Distinguished Service Award Winner Christene M. Jolowsky, MS, RPh, FASHP Executive Director, Experiential Education, University of Minnesota, College of Pharmacy Senior Consultant, Visante, Inc

Christene Jolowsky, MS, RPh, FASHP is the Executive Director for Experiential Education at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy. She is also a Clinical Assistant Professor in the College, and a Senior Consultant with Visante, Inc. Chris received her BS in Pharmacy from the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, and her MS in Pharmacy Administration from the University of Minnesota. She completed a two-year ASHP-Accredited Administrative Practice Residency at the University of Minnesota Hospitals and Clinic.

Chris has held pharmacy leadership positions in several large hospitals and systems in Minnesota (Allina Health System, HealthEast Care System, United Hospital and Abbott Northwestern Hospital) and Texas (The Methodist Hospital, Houston TX). These include system positions for pharmacy practice and clinical services. She has led site and system teams around patient safety improvement and clinical service initiatives. She has expertise in clinical and operational performance improvement, medication use improvement and patient safety. Key accomplishments include her roles in promoting technicians, student and residency training, and expanding the roles and scope of practice for pharmacists.

Ms. Jolowsky has served ASHP and the Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers in many capacities throughout her pharmacy career. She has served as Director-At Large for the Section, member of the Section Advisory Group on Manager Development, Chair of the Section Advisory Group on Quality and Compliance, and Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee to Develop Qualified Provider Models. In addition, she has served on the Practice Interest Advisory Panel, member of the Council on Educational Affairs, member of the Council on Administrative Affairs, and has been a Delegate to the House of Delegates four times. She was also recently elected to the ASHP Board of Directors.

Chris has served on many councils, committees and task forces at the local, state and national health-system society level, including president of the Minnesota Society. Chris served on the Novation Executive Council, include one year as the Vice-Chair. She is currently on the board of directors for the Century Mortar Club at the University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy. Chris was the 2005 recipient of the Hallie Bruce Award, Minnesota's highest honor for a health-system pharmacist. She was also the College of Pharmacy's Preceptor of the Year for 2005.