In the Spotlight

2007 Distinguished Service Award Winner Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers



Rita Shane, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCSHP Director of Pharmacy Services Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Rita Shane, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCSHP, is Director of Pharmacy Services at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, a 950-bed acute, tertiary care, teaching institution in Los Angeles, and Assistant Dean, Clinical Pharmacy Services, at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), School of Pharmacy. She is responsible for over 200 staff members.

Shane's "big hairy audacious goal" is to ensure that wherever patients need care, there is a demand for pharmacists to ensure optimal management of medications. She has strived to develop a progressive practice environment where pharmacists can use their expertise.

Shane is the recipient of the 2007 California Society of Health-System Pharmacists (CSHP) Pharmacist of the Year Award. She was the 2005 recipient of the ASHP Distinguished Leadership Award, and the 1995 recipient of the John Webb Visiting Professorship in Hospital Pharmacy on management excellence.

Shane is a co-investigator of two research studies in collaboration with the UCSF School of Pharmacy and approved by the state Board of Pharmacy to demonstrate the safety and importance of allowing technicians to check technician-filled medication cassettes in hospitals. She also worked collaboratively with CSHP to author language in support of this regulatory change, which was approved by the state of California, effective January 2007. Shane was co-investigator of a 2000 National Patient Safety Foundation Research Award to study "The Impact of Dedicated Medication Nurses Upon the Rate of Medication Administration Errors: A Randomized, Controlled Trial," which was subsequently published in the Archives of Internal Medicine. Her participation in the development of a "Prospective Physician Reviewer System for Strategic Management of Therapeutic Advances" was awarded 1st place in the 1993 Abbott National Pharmacy Quality Awards. In 1999, the pharmacy department was awarded both 1st and 2nd place in the Abbott National Pharmacy Quality Awards in the areas of continuity of care and pain management. In 2001, the pharmacy received a 2nd place award in the area of medication safety.

Shane is an active member of CSHP and ASHP and has served on a number of committees, task forces, and councils. She has presented at local, state, and national meetings. She has also published a number of papers in the pharmacy literature, most recently on outpatient reimbursement, mentoring, and strategies for achieving a high performance pharmacy.