Skip to main content Back to Top

ASHP Distinguished Service Award

The award will be presented annually during the Society's Midyear Clinical Meeting.

Established in 2007, the ASHP Pharmacy Practice Sections and New Practitioners Forum (NPF) Distinguished Service Award recognizes a member from each Section and NPF whose volunteer activities have supported the mission of their Section or NPF and helped advance the profession.

The recipients will also receive:

  • an inscribed award,
  • a complimentary registration for the meeting,
  • recognition in the News and Views, ASHP Newslinks, ASHP website, press release, and other means.

2019 ASHP Distinguished Service Award

Selected by the respective past executive committees, the recipients of this award truly represent the best that the membership and profession has to offer. Congratulations to the winners on this prestigious honor! The contributions of these six individuals will be recognized at a reception during the 2019 ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting in Las Vegas, Nevada, on Tuesday, December 10, 2019.


barbara petroffSection of Ambulatory Care Practitioners
Barbara Petroff, M.S., B.S.Pharm., FASHP

jill batesSection of Clinical Specialists and Scientists
Jill Bates, Pharm.D., M.S., BCOP, FASHP

emily alexanerSection of Inpatient Care Practitioners
Emily Alexander, Pharm.D., BCPS, FASHP

Barbara GiacomelliSection of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology
Barbara Giacomelli, Pharm.D., M.B.A., FASHP

HoffmanSection of Pharmacy Practice Leaders
James M. Hoffman, Pharm.D., M.S., FASHP

ashley dutyNew Practitioners Forum
Ashley Duty, Pharm.D., M.S.



  • Must have demonstrated a sustained contribution to a section or the NPF over at least 3 years,
  • Must have demonstrated contribution to the improvement of practice for the section’s or NPF’s area of practice and/or mission.


  • Cannot be a current member of an Executive Committee.
  • Cannot have been on an Executive Committee for the section or the forum they are being considered for within the previous term.
  • Current member of ASHP and Member of the Section or NPF at the time of the contribution or achievement.
  • Cannot have previously received the award within the past 3 years.

Nominating Instructions


  • For Technician Nominations: All nominations must be accompanied by 2 additional letters of recommendation. One must be from a current or former supervisor and the other from a professional colleague.
  • For all other Sections or New Practitioner Nominations: A letter of recommendation can be submitted in lieu of answering the questions below. This letter should answer the following questions:
    • Describe why you feel this person deserves to be nominated for this award;
    • Describe any ASHP and Section/Forum activities or positions in which the individual has participated;
    • Describe any additional experience, activities, or contributions you feel qualifies this person for this award;
    • Additional comments.
    • Submission of a CV/resume is optional.

    The deadline for nominations has been extended to May 1. Nominations are to be transmitted electronically from February 1 - May 1 using the Award Nomination Form.

    If you have any questions about the Awards Program, please contact the Office of Member Relations at



    Conferences, meetings, workshops, and recertification courses for pharmacy professionals

    Find a Meeting
    Link the whole card
    ASHP Consulting Photo

    ASHP Consulting Service

    Assisting clients with safety and quality-focused recommendations
    Learn More
    Link the whole card

    About ASHP

    We represent pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.

    Read More
    Link the whole card

    Join / Renew

    Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
    View Benefits
    Link the whole card