Skip to main content Back to Top

Andrew A. Mays

Candidate for Director-at-Large 2022-2024

Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists

Andrew MaysANDREW A. MAYS, Pharm.D., BCNSP, CNSC, ( is a clinical pharmacy specialist in nutrition support at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, where he serves as leader of the institution’s adult nutrition support service. He is also a clinical assistant professor at the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, where he assists with nutrition support education. Mays graduated from the University of Mississippi with a Pharm.D. and then completed an ASHP-accredited PGY-1 pharmacy residency at North Mississippi Medical Center in Tupelo, Mississippi.

His service to ASHP includes member of the Council on Therapeutics, member and chair of the New Practitioners Forum Membership and Outreach Advisory Group, and nutrition support roundtable discussion leader for the Section of Clinical Specialists and Scientists. He currently serves as a Mississippi delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates. Mays is also a past president of the Mississippi Society of Health Systems Pharmacists and served as a reviewer for the ASHP-ASPEN Nutrition Support Certificate Program.


Healthcare is constantly evolving and new opportunities continue to challenge our profession. With the support of ASHP, the Section is ready to ensure pharmacists and pharmacy technicians will be able to continue to advance their everyday practice to meet the needs of our patients and communities. During the COVID-19 pandemic, healthcare disparities have continued to directly impact the care delivered to patients. We should continue to address healthcare disparities through advocacy, education, and teamwork to ensure appropriate healthcare for all of our patients.

The experiences I have had through serving ASHP and multiple professional organizations has provided me with the skill set to successfully serve the Section as director-at-large. If elected, I would push for the continued advancement of pharmacy practice and address the gaps in access to healthcare for those in underserved and underrepresented areas. It is a great honor to be nominated, and I am dedicated to working as a team to promote our profession and elevate patient care.