Skip to main content Back to Top

Robert P. Granko

Candidate for Chair 2021-2022

Section of Pharmacy Practice Leaders
Robert Granko

ROBERT P. GRANKO, Pharm.D., M.B.A., FASHP ( is Director, Field Pharmacy Services at Premier Inc. He was previously Director of Pharmacy at The Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital and held multiple senior pharmacy leadership positions at UNC Healthcare.

Granko earned his B.S. Pharm. from Long Island University School of Pharmacy, his Pharm.D. from the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy, and his M.B.A. from Pfeiffer University, School of Graduate Studies. He maintains an academic appointment as Associate Professor of Clinical Education and serves as Course Director at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy in the combined MS/Health-System Pharmacy Administration and Leadership Program.

Granko has been active in ASHP’s Section of Pharmacy Practice Leaders since 2008, currently completing his term as Director-at-Large of the Section’s Executive Committee. Additionally, his service includes membership within the Section Advisory Groups (SAG) on Emerging Leaders, Strategy and Industry Disruptors, Leadership Development, and Management of the Pharmacy Enterprise. He is Past Chair of the SAG on Innovation Management, a participating content member for the Conference for Pharmacy Leaders Steering Committee, and a Pharmacy Forecast Survey Panel Member. He was past faculty with ASHP’s Managers Boot Camp and ASHP's Australia Leadership Boot Camp for The Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia.

In 2018, Granko was recognized as an ASHP Fellow and in 2016, was awarded the ASHP Section of Pharmacy Practice Managers Distinguished Service Award. He has authored over 30 publications and has been invited to present nationally and internationally on topics related to leadership development, clinician well-being and resilience, operations management, benchmarking, and data and analytics.


My current role as Director-at-Large of the Section of Pharmacy Practice Leaders Executive Committee has offered me the opportunity to serve the Section and its membership in meaningful and impactful ways. I’m honored to have helped lead the Section’s deployment and implementation of a new strategic plan and the refinement of our Section’s name from Managers to Leaders. These changes have helped further strengthen our Section’s mission and vision, and I am proud of our work to incorporate your voice throughout our planning and efforts. 

We face unprecedented challenges in our current health care environment that may extend for our foreseeable future.  This makes all the more critical the Section’s work to genuinely empower all pharmacy leaders to advance pharmacy practice, improve patient care, and care for ourselves and one another. With over a decade of long-standing service within the Section and my present Executive Committee leadership role, I remain steadfastly committed to working towards furthering the mission and vision of ASHP and the Section. 

I am privileged to be nominated for the Section’s Chair position, 2021-2022 term. As Chair, I will continue to proactively address ongoing and emerging issues affecting our practice, while honoring the contributions and spirit of past Section leadership. I look forward to continuing to make an active and thoughtful contribution advocating on behalf of the pharmacy leaders of our accomplished Section.