Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Bernard Mehl Named 2001 Whitney Award Winner

Bernard Mehl, DPS, FASHP, director of pharmacy at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York City and a highly esteemed educator and leader in hospital pharmacy, is the recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists' (ASHP) 2001 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award.  He will receive health-system pharmacy's highest award on June 6 during ASHP's Annual Meeting 2001 in Los Angeles.
     Mehl, widely recognized for his expertise in pharmacoeconomics, has authored numerous articles, including coauthorship of an annual forecast of drug costs published in the American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy.  He developed indices to monitor and control drug costs in hospitals that are used by pharmacy directors and administrators to prepare their pharmaceutical budgets.  Mehl is also noted for having created an analytical laboratory in the pharmacy department of Mount Sinai that provided both a cost and quality analysis of generic drug products.
     Throughout his career, Mehl has demonstrated innovative thinking that has resulted in the introduction of cutting-edge practice techniques, including one of the first computerized drug distribution systems in New York.  Under his direction, the Mount Sinai Pharmacy supported one of the first methadone treatment facilities in New York City.  Mehl was instrumental in developing the first Pharm.D. program in New York state at Columbia University College of Pharmacy in the early 1970s.  For many years he taught graduate courses at St. John's University College of Pharmacy. Currently he serves on the faculty of the Mount Sinai School of Medicine and Long Island University Arnold and Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Sciences.
     An active participant in local and national pharmacy organizations, Mehl served as president of the New York City Society of Health-system Pharmacists and the New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists (NYSCHP) and on ASHP's Council on Administrative Affairs and Commission on Goals.  He serves on numerous editorial and advisory boards and currently serves as vice president of education for the Crohn's and Colitis Foundation of America.
     A pharmacy graduate of Fordham University, Mehl also earned a MBA from Fairleigh Dickinson University and the Doctor of Professional Studies degree from Pace University.  His work has garnered awards from several organizations, including Northeastern University's John W. Webb Visiting Professor Award, the New York State Council of Health-system Pharmacists' "Pharmacist of the Year" and "Board of Directors" awards, and recognition as a Fellow of ASHP. He is a popular speaker at local and national pharmacy meetings and has conducted seminars with diverse audiences, including the Israeli Ministry of Health, the International Ladies' Garment Workers' Union, and the Hospital Food Administration Association of Greater New York.
     ASHP has administered the Harvey A. K. Whitney Lecture Award, established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, since 1963.  Harvey A. K. Whitney, ASHP's first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy.  Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members.  The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.  
     ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines.  Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective.  The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their delivery of pharmaceutical care, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.