Skip to main content Back to Top


ASHP Recognizes Members' Practice Excellence and Leadership

Kate Traynor

Twenty-five health-system pharmacists have been given the title "Fellow" by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) in acknowledgment of their distinguished service to pharmacy practice in hospitals and health systems.

The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program, which is administered by the Society’s Commission on Credentialing, recognizes excellence in practice and promotes public awareness of outstanding pharmacists. The Commission assesses each applicant’s sustained practice excellence with rigorous criteria that include contributions to scientific literature, research, and continued support of the profession through membership and participation in ASHP. Applicants also must have practiced in a concentrated area of pharmacy for at least 10 years to be considered for recognition.

  • Deepak Anand, Ph.D., Skilled Care Pharmacy, Monrovia, Calif.; 
  • Roger W. Anderson, Dr. P.H., M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston; 
  • Kathleen Hill-Besinque, Pharm.D., University Southern California, School of Pharmacy, Los Angeles; 
  • Wayne S. Bohenek, Pharm.D., The University Hospital, Cincinnati; 
  • Thomas S. Brenner, R.Ph., York Hospital, York, Pa.; 
  • Judy Lynn Chase, Pharm.D., M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston; 
  • William J. Dana, Pharm.D., M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston; 
  • JoLaine R. Draugalis, Ph.D., University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, Tucson; 
  • Dana S. Fitzsimmons, M.B.A., Pfizer, Inc., Houston; 
  • Robin H. Fuerst, Pharm.D., St. Joseph Regional Medical Center, Lewiston, Idaho; 
  • Judy L. Gardner, Pharm.D., Northside Hospital, Atlanta; 
  • Harold N. Godwin, M.S., University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City; 
  • Thomas G. Hall, Pharm.D., Barnes Jewish Hospital, Chesterfield, Mo.; 
  • Marie W. Jackson, Pharm.D., University Hospital, Augusta, Ga.; 
  • Jody E. Jacobson, R.Ph., FCSHP, University of California, Irvine; 
  • Matthew R. Keith, B.S., Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Huntsville; 
  • Nabil Khalidi, Pharm.D., University of Michigan Hospitals, Ann Arbor; 
  • Jonathan P. Lacro, Pharm.D., VA San Diego Healthcare System, San Diego; 
  • Mirta Millares, Pharm.D., Kaiser Permanente Drug Information Services, Downey, Calif.; 
  • William A. Miller, Pharm.D., M.Sc., University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, Iowa City; 
  • Sara L. Noble, Pharm.D., University of Mississippi Medical Center, Jackson; 
  • Lisa Hammer Rieg, Pharm.D., Kaiser Permanente Drug Information Services, Downey, Calif.; 
  • Judith K. Schneider, Pharm.D., M.S., University of Utah Hospitals & Clinics, Salt Lake City; 
  • Howard W. Switzky, B.S., Kaiser Permanente, Downey, Calif.; 
  • William Yee, Pharm.D., St. Joseph’s Medical Center, Stockton, Calif.

The 2002 Fellows will be honored on Monday, June 3, during the ASHP Summer Meeting 2002 in Baltimore.

For information about the ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program or to request an application, contact the Accreditation Services Division at (301) 657-3000, ext. 1329. Information, program criteria, and forms are also available on ASHP’s Web site. The deadline for receipt of applications is October 15, 2002.