Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Seventh Annual ASHP Clinical Skills Competition Ends in a Tie

Brianna Hoffman and Teresa Mathwig from South Dakota State University and Jennifer Askew and Stephanie Wrenn of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill were the winning teams in the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) seventh annual National Clinical Skills Competition, December 8, 2002, in Atlanta.  Announcement of the winning teams capped off a full-day of programming for the more than 2,500 pharmacy students in attendance. 

Sixty-nine teams who won preliminary competitions at their local pharmacy schools participated in the activity (see back page for full listing). The competition, which was sponsored by Pfizer U.S. Pharmaceuticals Group, offered students the opportunity to analyze actual patient cases, demonstrate their skills in assessing a patient’s medical history, identify drug therapy problems and treatment goals, and recommend a pharmacist’s care plan that included monitoring variables and desired outcomes.

Other focused activities for pharmacy students included sessions on resume and curriculum vitae writing and financial management and a panel discussion about residency training.  Student leaders from pharmacy schools around the country also met during the Midyear to exchange ideas for student society activities. “We are pleased to be able to offer the Clinical Skills Competition and student programming to introduce practitioners of the future to the skills they need to take on leadership roles in the profession,” said ASHP President Debra S. Devereaux, M.B.A., FASHP.

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines.  Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective.  The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their professional practice, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.  For more information, visit ASHP’s Web site,

Top Ten 2002 ASHP Clinical Skills Competition Finalists

Sanela Bajic and Julie Van Hauen, Drake University; Wendy Bullington and Himali Gunasinghe, Medical University of South Carolina; Amy Shisler and Caryn Caswell, Oregon State University; Brianna Hoffman and Teresa Mathwig, South Dakota State University; Sarah McGillian and Lauren Campbell, Temple University; Jessica Hughes and Christy Taylor, University of Kentucky; Jennifer Askew and Stephanie Wrenn , University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; LaKesha Moore and Beatrice Nyakonu, University of Minnesota; Brandon Suehs and James Cox, University of Texas at Austin; and Jennifer Guyer and Leigh Anne Hylton, Virginia Commonwealth University.

Teams Participating in Competition

The following institutions participated in the 2002 ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition:  

Arnold & Marie Schwartz (Long Island University)

Auburn University

Butler University

Campbell University

Drake University

Duquesne University

Ferris State University

Florida A&M University

Hampton University

Howard University

Idaho State University

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy 

Medical University of South Carolina

Mercer University

Midwestern University at Chicago

Midwestern University at Glendale

North Dakota State University

Northeastern University

Nova Southeastern University

Ohio Northern University

Oregon State University

Purdue University

Rutgers University

Shenandoah University

South Dakota State University

St. John’s University

St. Louis College of Pharmacy

State University of New York at Buffalo

Southwest Oklahoma State University

Temple University

Texas Southern University

Texas Tech University

The University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

University of Arizona

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

University of California at San Francisco

University of Cincinnati

University of Florida

University of Georgia

University of Houston

University of Illinois

University of Iowa

University of Kansas

University of Kentucky 

University of Louisiana at Monroe

University of Maryland

University of Michigan

University of Minnesota

University of Mississippi

University of Missouri at Kansas City

University of Montana

University of New Mexico

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

University of Oklahoma

University of Pittsburgh

University of Rhode Island

University of South Carolina

University of Southern California

University of Tennessee

University of Texas at Austin

University of Utah

University of Washington

University of Wisconsin

University of Wyoming

Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia

Washington State University

West Virginia University

Western University

Xavier University of Louisiana