Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

James C. McAllister, III, Named 2003 Whitney Award Winner

James C. McAllister, III, M.S., FASHP, director of pharmacy at the University of North Carolina (UNC) Hospitals & Clinics, has been named the recipient of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) 2003 Harvey A .K. Whitney Lecture Award.  He will receive health-system pharmacy’s highest award on June 3 during ASHP’s Summer Meeting 2003 in San Diego.

McAllister is noted for his innovative approach to pharmacy leadership. For 30 years, first at Duke University Medical Center and then at the UNC Hospitals, McAllister has positioned his pharmacy department to capitalize on opportunities to provide enhanced pharmacy services.  In addition to his pharmacy management duties at Duke, McAllister also had broad hospital administrative responsibilities as the system’s associate chief operating officer.  In this position he oversaw pharmacy, corporate international program development, corporate partnership development, and a variety of operational responsibilities. 
As a Clinical Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs at the UNC School of Pharmacy, McAllister has pioneered a mutually beneficial relationship between the school and the UNC Hospital, including establishing a pre-residency track, which provides pharmacy students with an intense “real world” learning environment in a hospital setting.

McAllister is a sought-after speaker and has made numerous presentations to both domestic and international audiences on a broad range of topics, including the use of information systems, home health care, implementing automation and pharmaceutical care services, providing pharmacy services in the operating room, and strategic planning.  He is also a widely-published author whose work has appeared in the American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy, Topics in Hospital Pharmacy Management, and the Australian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy. 

McAllister is active in pharmacy organizations and is a past president of both ASHP and the North Carolina Society of Health-System Pharmacists (NCHSP).  He is currently a board member of the American Foundation of Pharmaceutical Education and has served as a public member of the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties Nutritional Support Specialty Council and a member of the Joint Commission of Accreditation of Health Care Organizations’ Home Care PTAC.   He is the recipient of numerous awards, including recognition by ASHP, NCSHP, the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists, and the United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacists Association.   

“Jim’s career demonstrates the strength of his commitment to our profession and the development of a new generation of pharmacy leaders,” said Henri R. Manasse, Jr., Ph.D., Sc.D., executive vice president and chief executive officer of ASHP.  “The Whitney Award is a fitting recognition of his dedication to securing a successful future for our profession.”

ASHP has administered the Harvey A. K. Whitney Lecture Award, established in 1950 by the Southeastern Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, since 1963.  Harvey A. K. Whitney, ASHP’s first president, was an editor, author, educator, practitioner, and leader in hospital pharmacy.  Nominations for the award are made by past recipients and ASHP members.  The winner is selected by a majority vote of past honorees.  

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines.  Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective.  The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their professional practice, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.  For more information, visit ASHP’s Web site,