Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Vermeulen Receives ASHPs Donald E Francke Medal

Pharmacist Spearheaded Development of Influential FIP Basel Statements

Lee Vermeulen, B.S.Pharm., M.S., FCCP, FFIP, Director of the University of Kentucky Healthcare Office for Value and Innovation in Healthcare Delivery (OVIHD), is the recipient of ASHP’s 2016 Donald E. Francke Medal. Mr. Vermeulen received his award and presented his lecture on Monday, December 5, 2016, at ASHP’s 51st Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Las Vegas.

ASHP established the Francke Medal to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to international pharmacy practice. Francke, a key leader of ASHP in its formative years, was noted for his longtime service to American and international pharmacy. He served as editor of the American Journal of Hospital Pharmacy for 22 years and was the first American Vice President of the International Pharmaceutical Federation’s (FIP’s) Section of Hospital Pharmacists.

Mr. Vermeulen has served in several leadership roles within the Hospital Pharmacy Section of the FIP and as a member of the FIP Board of Pharmaceutical Practice. He is actively involved in the FIP Pharmabridge program, which seeks to improve pharmacy services in low-income and emerging countries. He has also contributed to the work of several other international organizations, including the International Society of Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR), the International Society of Oncology Pharmacy Practitioners (ISOPP), and the European Association of Hospital Pharmacy (EAHP).

In 2008, he led the planning and execution of the FIP Global Conference on the Future of Hospital Pharmacy held in Basel, Switzerland. This landmark conference included representatives from nearly 100 countries and produced consensus statements on the future of pharmacy practice worldwide, known as the “FIP Basel Statements.” Translated into 20 languages, these guidelines have influenced practice standards around the world. Mr. Vermeulen also contributed to a similar effort undertaken by EAHP to develop a set of European practice standards drawing on the Basel Statements.

“Mr. Vermeulen’s work has been instrumental in helping to set the course for the future of pharmacy practice around the world,” said ASHP President Lisa M. Gersema, Pharm.D., M.H.A., BCPS, FASHP. “We are proud to present him with the 2016 Francke Medal in recognition of his important achievements.”

A widely published author, Mr. Vermeulen serves on the editorial advisory board of Pharmacotherapy. He is a recipient of the ASHP Foundation Award for Innovation in Pharmacy Practice and the Winston J. Durant Lecture Award, and he is a Fellow of FIP and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

About ASHP

ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings. The organization’s more than 43,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For over 70 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,

Join / Renew

Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
View Benefits
Link the whole card

Link the whole card