Skip to main content Back to Top


ASHP Names Steering Committee Members for Specialty Pharmacy Summit

ASHP has named 14 members to the Steering Committee for the ASHP Specialty Pharmacy State of Practice in Hospitals and Health Systems – Future Directions Summit, February 1-4, 2021.

The Steering Committee, chaired by Udobi Campbell, Pharm.D., M.B.A., regional director of pharmacy at UNC Health, will guide the planning of ASHP’s interprofessional summit, which will bring together hospital and health-system pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, nurses, pharmaceutical manufacturers, payers, and others, to discuss how to advance hospital and health-system specialty pharmacy practice to optimize patient health outcomes. Stakeholders during the summit will:

  • Identify critical elements for successful patient access, affordability, and outcomes of care involving specialty pharmacy designated medications.  
  • Develop recommendations that meet the patient outcomes and business measures and accountabilities of the various partners involved in the diagnosis, care planning, medication management, payment, and reimbursement of specialty pharmacy designated medications.  
  • Develop recommendations that optimize all aspects of the patient journey and quality of life associated with the use of specialty pharmacy designated medications.  
  • Discuss a shared vision for value-based care that will support a sustainable U.S. healthcare model(s) and the interface with specialty pharmacy designated medications.

Outcomes from the summit, including recommendations for advancing practice and improving patient care, will be published in a forthcoming issue of AJHP and support the development of future ASHP educational content and tools.

Join / Renew

Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
View Benefits
Link the whole card

Link the whole card