Skip to main content Back to Top

SOPIT Leadership

Executive Committee

The role of the Section Executive Committee is to provide leadership, guidance, and advice to ASHP on ways to meet practice needs of members.

Chair (2021-2022)

Barry McClain, Pharm.D., M.S.

Barry McLainBarry McClain is Director of Pharmacy Information Systems at Advocate Aurora Health Care in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he leads a world-class team that supports the best use and design of pharmacy applications for 25 hospitals, 70+ retail pharmacies, and many clinics. He graduated with a Pharm.D. from The Ohio State University and a M.S. degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison while completing a combined PGY1/PGY2 health-system pharmacy administration residency at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics. McClain serves as the Residency Program Director for the PGY2 pharmacy informatics residency and is also a preceptor for the PGY1 practice and PGY2 administration residencies. McClain’s favorite professional contribution has been being Director-at-Large of the Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology. Otherwise, he has been involved at the regional pharmacy school, has presented numerous times at state/national conferences, and been involved with various state/national informatics groups over the years.  

Barry McClain can be e-mailed at

Immediate Past Chair (2021-2022)

Seth W. Hartman, Pharm.D., M.B.A.

Seth HartmanSeth Hartman is the Director of Pharmacy Informatics at The University of Chicago Medicine (UCM), an 811-bed pediatric and adult, Level 1 trauma academic medical center. Hartman graduated from the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 2008 with his Pharm.D. degree, and in 2017 graduated with his Healthcare M.B.A. from Oregon Health and Science University. He is a Residency Program Director for a PGY2 residency in informatics, serves as preceptor to residents and students at UCM, and lectures at schools of pharmacy when available. Hartman was part of the ASHP faculty who produced the Pharmacy Informatics Essentials program in 2014 (now titled the ASHP Pharmacy Informatics Certificate program). He was Chair of the Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology Educational Steering Committee and has presented, moderated, and was program chair for ASHP Summer Meetings sessions over several years.

Seth Hartman can be e-emailed at

Director-at-Large (2020-2022)

Carol L. White, Pharm.D., BCGP, BCPS, CPHIMS

Carol WhiteCarol White is the Director of Pharmacy Services and Clinical Therapeutics at HCA Healthcare. For the last few years, she has led pharmacy informatics work across HCA Healthcare’s Physician Services Group, which consists of over 1,200 practices across the United States. Having recently transitioned roles in the organization, she now focuses on translational medication and safety data analytics for inpatient and outpatient settings. White earned her Pharm.D. from the University of Tennessee and completed a two-year pharmacotherapy residency at the Medical University of South Carolina. Her support of the profession is demonstrated through her volunteerism, having served in a variety of roles within the Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology Advisory Groups. She is currently finishing her term as Chair of the Section’s Educational Steering Committee, where she had the opportunity to interact with leaders from across the Section to identify new needs and modalities for delivering education to members.

Carol White can be e-mailed at

Director-at-Large (2021-2023)

Jeffrey R. Chalmers, Pharm.D.

Jeffrey ChalmersJeffrey Chalmers is the System Director of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology for the Cleveland Clinic Health System in Cleveland. He leads teams that support all pharmacy automation and technology, as well as the medication management tools within the enterprise electronic medical record in both the inpatient and ambulatory environments. His teams support both national and international operations within 11 hospitals in Ohio and Florida in addition to the services at Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi and London. His responsibilities also include support for 20 retail pharmacies and nearly 1000 ambulatory clinics and surgery centers. Dr. Chalmers earned his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the University of Toledo and his Pharm.D. from the University of Florida. He is an adjunct faculty member at Northeast Ohio Medical University teaching classes in pharmacy informatics. 

Jeff prides himself as an informatics pharmacist with expertise in clinical decision support, data analytics, inventory management, and the use of artificial intelligence to improve caregiver efficiency. Jeff created the Cleveland Clinic pharmacy informatics PGY-2 residency program in 2013, illustrating his passion for pharmacy informatics and his desire to give back to the profession. He served as the Residency Program Director until 2018. 

Within ASHP, Jeff has served as a member and Vice Chair of the SAG on Clinical Information Systems in 2015-16 and the Chair for the 2016-17 year. He is a frequent presenter at ASHP Midyear and Summer meetings as well as other user group meetings and conferences.

Jeffrey Chalmers can be e-mailed at

ASHP Staff

Amey C. Hugg, B.S.Pharm., CPHIMS, FKSHP
Director, Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology

Amey Hugg Amey C. Hugg, B.S. Pharm., CPHIMS, FKSHP is the Director of the ASHP Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology. Her responsibilities include acting as the staff liaison and secretary for the SOPIT Executive Committee and coordinating activities to accomplish established Section objectives. She also acts as an ASHP information resource and provides guidance to members on pharmacy informatics in various health care environments.

Previously, Ms. Hugg was the Manager of Pharmacy Informatics and the Organizational Leader for Physician Adoption and Order Sets at the University of Louisville Hospital. Additionally, she was the Director of the PGY2 Pharmacy Informatics Residency Program and has been an active preceptor during her entire career. For several years, she served ASHP as a volunteer informatics residency site surveyor. In addition to health-systems, her pharmacy practice experience includes corporate level pharmacy management, clinical pharmacy, Medicaid and managed care.

Ms. Hugg has been a leader in various pharmacy and informatics organizations throughout her career, including the Kentucky Society of Health-System Pharmacists. She served on the KSHP Executive Committee in various capacities, including President of the association. Most recently, she was awarded KSHP Fellow status.

Ms. Hugg, a fourth generation pharmacist, received her pharmacy degree from the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy and is a Certified Professional in Healthcare Information and Management Systems.

SOPIT on ASHP Connect

SOPIT on Connect

Member-only section discussions, blogs and announcements on ASHP Connect

Member Log-In
Link the whole card
The Pharmacy Informatics Primer

The Pharmacy Informatics Primer

View Product
Link the whole card

About ASHP

We represent pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.

Read More
Link the whole card

The Pharmacy Informatics Primer

View Product
Link the whole card