Skip to main content Back to Top

Harvey A.K. Whitney Award

Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award is considered to be the highest honor in the profession.

Established in 1950 by the Michigan Society of Hospital Pharmacists, the annual Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to health-system pharmacy.

Current 2023 Recipient

Milap C. NahataMilap C. Nahata, PharmD, MS, FASHP, FCCP, FAPhA, FPPA

Milap C. Nahata is professor emeritus of pharmacy, pediatrics, and internal medicine at The Ohio State University (OSU) colleges of pharmacy and medicine. His clinical practice and patient-focused research have fundamentally shaped the field of pediatric pharmacy, encompassing all aspects of providing comprehensive medication management for children. Read Bio >

For Nominations

The Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award is given annually to an individual of high moral character, good citizenship, and elevated professional ideals. The recipient has made significant contributions to health-system pharmacy, including sustained exemplary service, an outstanding single achievement, or a combination of accomplishments benefiting the profession and public health. These may include achievements or outstanding performance that relate to health-system pharmacy:

  • Practice, education, or administration,
  • Research or development,
  • Organizational activities,
  • Scientific or professional writing,
  • Journalism,
  • Public and/or inter-professional relations activities, or
  • Law, legislation, regulation, or standards of professional conduct.

Nominating Instructions

ASHP’s Chief Executive Officer sends out an annual call for nominations to State Affiliates and ASHP Past Presidents at least nine months in advance of ASHP’s Summer Meetings. An all-member notice is also typically published in AJHP. Selection Committee members, ASHP state affiliate officials, past presidents, and any 10 active ASHP members can submit recommendations. All nominations must include a complete, specific statement about the candidate. 

Selection Committee

The Whitney Award Selection Committee is comprised of past recipients. The candidate receiving a majority (more than half) of committee votes is declared the award winner. The committee chairman is the most recent past recipient — he or she does not vote except to break tie ballots. The winner is expected to present a lecture at the award banquet. Additionally, the awardee receives an engraved plaque, a generous stipend, and free registration to ASHP’s Summer Meetings.

The Harvey A.K. Whitney Award Lecture

The Harvey A.K. Whitney Award Lecture is a collection of addresses presented by past awardees. View the collection.



Conferences, meetings, workshops, and recertification courses for pharmacy professionals

Find a Meeting
Link the whole card
ASHP Consulting Photo

ASHP Consulting Service

Assisting clients with safety and quality-focused recommendations
Learn More
Link the whole card

About ASHP

We represent pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.

Read More
Link the whole card

Join / Renew

Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
View Benefits
Link the whole card