Skip to main content Back to Top

ASHP President

Paul C. Walker

Paul Walker

Paul C. Walker is clinical professor and assistant dean of experiential education and community engagement, College of Pharmacy, and manager, department of pharmacy, Michigan Medicine. Walker received his BS in pharmacy and PharmD from Wayne State University. He completed an ASHP-accredited residency at Children’s Hospital of Michigan and specialty residency in pediatric pharmacy practice at the University of Tennessee. He has served in clinical practice and leadership roles at the Detroit Medical Center and Henry Ford Health System and held faculty appointments at Wayne State University. He is passionate about advancing pharmacy practice by innovating pharmacist services, evaluating pharmacists’ impact on patient care, and especially by integrating student pharmacists into practice models and interprofessional teams through work in experiential education.

Walker has served ASHP in many capacities, most recently as a member of the Board of Directors. He chaired ASHP’s recent Task Force on Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. He also served as chair of the Committee on Nominations; as a member of the Commission on Affiliate Relations and the ASHP Foundation Donor Retention Subcommittee; and as a delegate to the House of Delegates for many years. 

Walker served on the board of directors of the Michigan Pharmacists Association (MPA) and the Michigan Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP). He received the 2008 MSHP Professional Practice Award, the 2010 MSHP Pharmacist of the Year Award, the 2017 MSHP Joseph A. Oddis Leadership Award, and the 2022 MPA Pharmacist of the Year Award. He has been inducted into the MPA Hall of Honor and is recognized as a Fellow by ASHP and MPA.