2021 ASHP/ASHP Foundation Pharmacy Forecast

March 2, 2021

In this podcast, Jannet Carmichael, Joseph DiPiro, and Rita Shane will discuss the 2021 ASHP/ASHP Foundation Pharmacy Forecast Report with host and AJHP Editor in Chief Daniel Cobaugh. They will focus on the Report’s findings and recommendations related to big data, patient safety, and health disparities as well as its relationship to the Vizient High Value Pharmacy Enterprise Framework and its role in strategic planning for pharmacy departments.

View the Article


Jannet CarmichaelJannet M. Carmichael, BS, Pharm.D., BCPS, FCCP, FAPhA, is the President of PHARM CONSULT NV LLC, a clinical pharmacy services consulting company. She is retired from the Veterans Health Administration where she was the VISN 21 Pharmacy Executive for the VA Sierra Pacific Network caring for all veterans in Nevada, Northern California and Hawaii. Jan is a Past-President of the American Society of Health-system Pharmacists, a former member of the Nevada Board of Pharmacy, Past-President of the Nevada Pharmacists Association and of the Nevada Pharmacy Alliance. Jan is a recipient of the ASHP 2013 Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award, Federal Pharmacist of the Year by APhA in 2012 and University of Iowa Distinguished Alumni in 2011 and Osterhaus Medal for Lifetime Achievement in 2017. She is past-Chair of the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties (BPS), has Chaired the BCPS Pharmacotherapy Council and is an ACPE Practitioner Reviewer and member of the ACPE International Commission and ASHP Residency surveyor.

Joseph di PiroDr. Joseph T. DiPiro is Dean, Professor and Archie. O. McCalley Chair at the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy, Richmond, Virginia. He received his BS in pharmacy (Honors College) from the University of Connecticut and Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Kentucky. He served a residency at the University of Kentucky Medical Center and a fellowship in Clinical Immunology at Johns Hopkins University.

Rita ShaneRita Shane, Pharm.D., FASHP, FCSHP, is Vice President and Chief Pharmacy Officer and Professor of Medicine, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, an 886 bed acute, tertiary care, teaching institution and Assistant Dean, Clinical Pharmacy Services, at the UCSF School of Pharmacy. Dr. Shane is the recipient of the 2019 ISMP Lifetime Achievement Award, 2018 American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Honorary Membership Award and the 2012 Harvey A.K. Whitney award.  She has published over 100 articles and provided over 200 presentations at the state, national, and international level.  She has collaborated on research in medication safety and transitions of care. Most recently, she collaborated with former Senator Jeff Stone on a new law that requires pharmacy staff to obtain medication histories on high risk patients admitted to hospitals in California.



iTunes      Google      Stitcher      Spotify      TuneIn      iHeart Radio

The information presented during the podcast reflects solely the opinions of the presenter. The information and materials are not, and are not intended as, a comprehensive source of drug information on this topic. The contents of the podcast have not been reviewed by ASHP, and should neither be interpreted as the official policies of ASHP, nor an endorsement of any product(s), nor should they be considered as a substitute for the professional judgment of the pharmacist or physician.