Skip to main content Back to Top

The Section Executive Committee

Executive Committee

The role of the Section Executive Committee is to provide leadership, guidance, and advice to ASHP on ways to better meet the day to day practice needs of members.

Chair (2021-2022)

Melissa Ortega, Pharm.D., M.S.

Melissa OrtegaMelissa Ortega is the director of outpatient pharmacy services at Tufts Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts. Dr. Ortega has focused her career on championing pharmacy practice advancement initiatives locally and nationally across the care continuum. As a member of the pharmacy leadership team, Dr. Ortega oversees ambulatory, community, and specialty pharmacy services. She has expanded clinical and outpatient programs to enhance care transition, medication therapy management, and access. Dr. Ortega received her Doctor of Pharmacy from Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, and completed a PGY1 pharmacy practice and PGY2 health-system pharmacy administration residencies at the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics. Dr. Ortega served as president of the Massachusetts Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP) and led efforts to promote pharmacists’ provider status as chair of the MSHP legislative committee. Active in national pharmacy organizations, Dr. Ortega has participated on several ASHP membership sections, and recently served on the ASHP Task Force on Racial Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. 

Melissa Ortega can be emailed at [email protected].

Courtney B. Isom, Pharm.D., BCACP, CPP

Courtney IsomCourtney B. Isom is the pharmacy operations coordinator at the Cone Health Community Health Wellness Center Pharmacy in Greensboro, North Carolina. In this role, she is involved with creating medication access and expanding clinical services for the uninsured and underinsured population. Dr. Isom also oversees the day-to-day operations of the pharmacy and serves in several teaching and precepting roles, including as the Residency Program Director for the PGY1 community-based pharmacy residency program. Dr. Isom received her Bachelor of Science in biological sciences from North Carolina State University and her Doctor of Pharmacy from Campbell University. She completed a PGY1 community-based pharmacy residency at the University of Georgia in conjunction with Kroger Pharmacy. Dr. Isom is a member of the Advisory Board for High Point University Fred Wilson School of Pharmacy and Other Voices Alumni for the Greensboro Chamber of Commerce.

Courtney Isom can be emailed at [email protected].

Tasha Polster, R.Ph.

Tasha PolsterTasha Polster is the vice president of pharmacy quality, compliance, and patient safety at Walgreen Co., in Deerfield, Illinois. Her responsibilities include overseeing the Retail Pharmacy Immunization program, pharmacovigilance group and patient safety, as well as implementing strategic initiatives such as prescription billing, electronic prescribing, and pharmacy automation. In addition, Ms. Polster supervises the pharmaceutical integrity group, which implements guidelines for the proper dispensing of controlled substances. Ms. Polster is also actively involved in transforming community pharmacy and expanding the role of pharmacists and technicians by allowing them to work at the top of their licenses. Ms. Polster earned her Bachelor of Science in pharmacy from the University of Colorado. She recently served on the ASHP Opioid Task Force. 

Tasha Polster can be emailed at [email protected].

Ashley Storvick, Pharm.D., M.B.A.

Ashley StorvickAshley Storvick is the director of ambulatory services at Advocate Aurora in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Dr. Storvick oversees operations and pharmacy service development for several Greater Milwaukee Area retail pharmacies and ambulatory clinics. She also serves as a liaison between the clinics and pharmacies, designing growth and business development initiatives throughout the system. Since completing her PGY1 pharmacy practice and PGY2 health-system pharmacy administration residency at Aurora Health Care, Dr. Storvick has held multiple leadership roles, including inpatient pharmacy manager, director of ambulatory oncology pharmacy services, and system pharmacy business development coordinator. Dr. Storvick received her Doctor of Pharmacy and Masters of Business Administration from Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa. Dr. Storvick is a past member of the ASHP Commission on Credentialing and is a member of the Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin.

Ashley Storvick can be emailed at [email protected].

Rema Thyagarajan, Pharm.D., M.B.A., BCPS

Rema ThyagarajanRema Thyagarajan is the system director of pharmacy - ambulatory services at Baylor Scott and White Health (BSWH) in Dallas, Texas. She has served in many roles in her tenure at BSWH, including as staff pharmacist, clinical coordinator/manager, and director of pharmacy. In her current role, Dr. Thyagarajan is responsible for implementing pharmacist-embedded clinics to improve patient care and specialty pharmacy outcomes for Baylor-owned retail pharmacies. Dr. Thyagarajan is also responsible for the BSWH accountable care organization’s transitions of care and medication adherence and compliance activities and shared savings measures. Dr. Thyagarajan earned her Doctor of Pharmacy at the University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy and completed her PGY1 pharmacy residency at Baylor University Medical Center. Dr. Thyagarajan is an active member of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists and Vizient Pharmacy Network Clinical Council Committees. She is a past chair of the ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum.

Rema Thyagarajan can be emailed at [email protected].

ASHP Staff

Georgia (Gina) Galanou Luchen, Pharm.D.

Gina LuchenGeorgia (Gina) Galanou Luchen serves as the Director of Member Relations at ASHP, serving as staff liaison to the Section of Pharmacy Educators and Section of Community Pharmacy Practitioners. In this role, Dr. Luchen leads the development and implementation of programs and resources related to pharmacy learners, schools and colleges of pharmacy, and pharmacy educators. She also leads initiatives related to community pharmacy practitioners and their impact throughout the care continuum. Dr. Luchen is a graduate of ASHP's Executive Fellowship in Association Leadership and Management in Bethesda, MD. She received her Bachelor’s in Pharmaceutical Studies and Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy, and completed a PGY1 community-based pharmacy residency at the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy in conjunction with Balls Food Stores in Olathe, KS.

Gina Luchen can be e-mailed at [email protected].