Skip to main content Back to Top

Chair Message January 2019

January 2019

Dear Colleagues,

I first want to thank leaders and members of the Section Executive Committee, the Section Advisory Groups (SAG), and Educational Steering Committee (ESC) who made a positive impact at the ASHP Clinical Midyear this past December.  Talking with Section members at the networking sessions and meet and greets was a real treat for this rural pharmacist.  I am always impressed by the caliber of my fellow pharmacists and the work that they do.

We are getting into one of my favorite times of the year, planning season.  It’s time to look forward to spring and new opportunities.  On the home front, our sheep are starting to lamb and every visit out to the barn during the day or the middle of the night might mean a new life arriving on the farm.  The mail is full catalogs promising a bountiful harvest.  At my practice setting, it means reviewing resident applications and starting to think about new capital requests. This past December at the ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting, our Section’s Executive Committee met for a full day of planning and review.  A primary task is to take the ASHP Strategic Plan and determine how we can help accomplish ASHP strategic priorities and goals through our Section’s activities and resources.  At the December meeting, we had an awesome discussion on our mission, vision, and tagline and reviewed the activities of our SAGs and ESC. Watch for updates in this column, NewsLink, and on our Inpatient Care Practitioners site on

I want you to consider a position in ASHP in your planning for the new year.  There are many opportunities to be a part of the Section through the SAGs and ESC, as well as the Executive Committee.  The application survey for these positions will be available starting in early February.  If you are currently on a SAG or ESC, as in the past, you will need to re-apply for the position.  These committees are where the real work and rewards of being part of ASHP happen!


Todd D. Lemke, Pharm.D., CDE
Chair, Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners 
[email protected]