Skip to main content Back to Top

SICP Chair Message July 2019

July 2019

SICP Friends,

The essential community for those on the frontline of pharmacy practice.  That is who we are - the Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners (SICP), aka the “IN” Section.  It was inspiring to see all the incredible work being done by the SICP members at the 2019 ASHP Summer Meetings, including presenting at educational sessions, leading the Medication Safety roundtable session, participating in the Practice Advancement Initiative (PAI) 2030 Town Hall, voting in the House of Delegates, and making new friends at receptions, dinners, or informally in the convention center.  If you have never attended an ASHP Summer Meetings, I highly recommend it, especially if you are looking for inspiration, engagement, and connections. I hope you caught Bruce Scott’s Harvey A.K. Whitney Award lecture, but if not, it will be published in AJHP soon. The award recognizes significant contributions to the advancement of pharmacy practice.  Next June, the Summer Meetings will convene in beautiful Seattle, my neck of the woods, so put it on your calendar! 

During the “dog days” of summer, we move into high gear with planning for the SICP Section Advisory Group (SAGs) and Educational Steering Committee (ESC) meetings which reconvene in September. The SAGs/ESC will have a high bar this year based on the great work done last year, but I have no doubt that we will continue to see valuable and expert-driven tools and resources coming from our highly talented SAG/ESC members.  We also have the new Compounding Practice SAG this year to help us navigate USP chapters.  If you are working on a project at your organization, check out the Section website first, because there very well may be a resource there that is exactly what you need to get started.

I would like to thank the members of our SICP Executive Committee (EC) who are either transitioning off the committee (Linda Spooner, Immediate Past Chair; Paul Milligan, Director-at-Large; and Paul Walker, ASHP Board of Directors (BOD) Liaison) or moving into their “Immediate-Past” roles (Todd Lemke, Chair and Sue Skledar, Director-at Large) for their service and leadership with the Section.  I have learned a great deal from their expertise and knowledge during my onboarding year.

We will also soon be welcoming new team members to the EC as elections are underway for Chair 2020-21 (Candidates:  Gregory Burger and Paul Milligan) and Director-At-Large elect 2020-22. (Candidates: Allison King and Codee Peterson).  Congratulations and good luck to the candidates. Remember to cast your vote before 12:00 midnight ET, July 30, 2019! All ASHP members received communication on July 1, with the subject line “ASHP Election - Voting Now Open.” Please direct any questions to ASHP at [email protected] or call ASHP Customer Relations at 866-279-0681.

As I step into the SICP Chair role, I am humbled by the opportunity given to me by the SICP membership and excited to be joined by Sarah Stephens, as the Director-at-Large and Nishaminy (Nish) Kasbekar, our ASHP BOD Liaison.  The EC and “IN” section are here to provide tools and resources that you can use in your practice. Do you like where the Section is heading?  Have a suggestion or a topic for us to consider? Please reach out to me or any EC member.  We are open to ideas on how we can best serve our members.  So, until next time, continue to be our patient’s advocates on the frontline of pharmacy practice!


Doug Meyer, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A., R.Ph., BCNSP
Chair, Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners 
[email protected]