Skip to main content Back to Top


Gans Receives 1998 Whitney Award

John A. Gans, Pharm.D., Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Pharmaceutical Association, is the 1998 recipient of ASHP's Harvey A.K. Whitney Lecture Award. gans.gif 

Gans, whose work in institutional pharmacy has spanned 32 years, has had a prestigious career in academia, health-system and community pharmacy, health-care industry, and pharmacy association management. He has served as a high-ranking faculty member with the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science and the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. 

Since 1989, Gans has served as APhA Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer. He has been a member of ASHP since 1973, serving in a variety of state society and national levels. Gans was ASHP President in 1986. 

Nominators cited Gans's outstanding leadership and work on behalf of health-system pharmacy in their letters of support. "Throughout his career, John Gans has provided enthusiastic, visionary leadership for pharmacy. He has a passion for pharmacy and a vision of its sense of purpose," wrote Terry Schwinghammer, Pharm.D., President of ASHP's Pennsylvania State Society. 

Gans will accept health-system pharmacy's highest award at ASHP's 1998 Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, in June. 


  • Past Receipients
  • Criteria and Procedures for Selections