Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum Announces Winners of National Clinical Skills Competition

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) 3rd Annual National Clinical Skills Competition attracted teams from more than 50 colleges and universities throughout the nation. This year's winning title was captured by Lisa Crow and Ryan Bickel, Ferris State University. The two-day competition, conducted by the ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum, was held at the Society’s 33rd Annual Midyear Clinical Meeting, attended by more than 2,600 students.

Fifty-six teams who won preliminary contests at their local pharmacy schools participated in the activity (see back side of page for list). The competition offered students the opportunity to analyze actual patient cases; demonstrate their skills in assessing a patient’s medical history; identify drug therapy problems and treatment goals; and recommend a pharmacist’s care plan, including monitoring variables and desired outcomes. 

The clinical skills competition is part of Project Catalyst, ASHP’s initiative designed to facilitate the implementation of pharmaceutical care by pharmacists in health systems. Funding for the competition was granted by the ASHP Research and Education Foundation through a grant provided by Glaxo Wellcome, Inc. 

The ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum is a component group of the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists in health systems. The Forum serves the needs of the Society’s more than 5,500 student members and helps pharmacy students make a difference in tomorrow’s health systems. 

Top Ten Finalists

Jennifer Moore and Jennifer Cougill, Butler University; Lisa Crow and Ryan Bickel, Ferris State University; Jennifer Berard and Paul Arpino, Northeastern University; Rhonda Weber and Joy Venhaus, St. Louis College of Pharmacy; Holly Rogers and Daniel Gorzynski, University of Georgia; Krista Coval and Erin Totleben, University of Pittsburgh; Shelley Chun and Stephanie Dufour, University of Washington; Quynh-Van Duong and Terry Troy, Virginia Commonwealth University; Lloyd Stever and Hollie Leitzelar, Washington State University; and Diane McCowan and Kathleen Warren, Western University of Health Sciences. Teams Participating in ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition The following institutions participated in the 1998 ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition. The teams represented: 

A.M. Schwartz College of Pharmacy
Butler University
Campbell University
Drake University
Duquesne University
Ferris State University
Florida A & M University
Howard University
Idaho State University
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy & Allied Health Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC)
Mercer University
Midwestern University
North Dakota State University
Northeastern University
Nova Southeastern University
Ohio Northern University
Oregon State University
Purdue University
Rutgers University
Shenandoah University
South Dakota State University
St. Louis College of Pharmacy
Temple University
Texas Southern University
Texas Tech University
University of Arizona
University of Arkansas
University of California San Francisco
University of Connecticut
University of Florida
University of Georgia
University of Houston
University of Illinois
University of Iowa
University of Kansas
University of Maryland
University of Michigan
University of Missouri Kansas City
University of North Carolina
University of Oklahoma
University of Pittsburgh
University of South Carolina
University of Southern California
University of Texas at Austin
University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
University of the Pacific
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin
Virginia Commonwealth University
Washington State University
Wayne State University
West Virginia University
Western University of Health Sciences
Xavier Universit