Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

ASHP's "Competitive Edge" Wins ASAE Award of Excellence

The American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) has awarded a Certificate of Achievement in Education to the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ training program, “The Competitive Edge: Advanced Experiential Training in Conducting and Using Outcomes Studies.” ASAE, a membership organization made up of more than 23,500 association executives and suppliers, has honored outstanding association programs through its Excellence in Education program for 16 years.

ASHP submitted the program under the “Strategic Alliances” category, which recognizes partnerships among associations and other organizations in developing exceptional educational programming. ASHP’s alliance with Hoechst Marion Roussel, Inc., enabled the Society to develop an affordable program that provides expert mentoring and on-the-job project development and completion. 

The “Competitive Edge” combines home study, workshops, and electronic learning via the Internet in training pharmacists to gather and use outcomes data in making clinical decisions. Participants design simple outcomes studies and use the resulting data to support formulary decisions, design pharmaceutical intervention programs, and meet national accreditation standards. The program was spearheaded by professionals in ASHP's Educational Services Division, who worked with Hoechst representative Dr. Cathy Carroll and content matter experts Nelda Johnson, Lee Vermeulen, and Sara Beis to design and implement the program. 

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medications. The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their delivery of pharmaceutical care, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.