Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Campbell University Students Capture National Clinical Skills Title

Students representing teams from more than 60 schools participated in the American Society of Health-System Pharmacist’s (ASHP) Fourth Annual National Clinical Skills Competition. Terri Dittmar and Erin Sievers, students at Campbell University in Buies Creek, N.C, won this year’s title. The two-day competition, which was conducted by the ASHP Pharmacy Student Forum, was held at the Society’s 34th Annual Midyear Clinical Meeting in December 1999.

Sixty-one teams who won preliminary competitions at their local pharmacy schools participated in the activity (see back page). The competition, which was sponsored by Glaxo Wellcome, offered students the opportunity to analyze actual patient cases, demonstrate their skills in assessing a patient’s medical history, identify drug therapy problems and treatment goals, and recommend a pharmacist’s care plan, that included monitoring variables and desired outcomes.

"We are very proud of the growth of the National Clinical Skills Competition and the way it has been embraced by pharmacy schools throughout the country," said ASHP President Bruce E. Scott, M.S., FASHP. "The competition provides valuable preparation for clinical situations students will face as real practitioners."

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medications. Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective. The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their delivery of pharmaceutical care, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.


Top Ten Finalists

Kari Baur and Erica L’Esperance, University of New Mexico; Nina Yousefzadeh Devanshi Patel, St. John’s University; Rose Catherine Plummer, Jennifer Ann McCullough, Purdue University;Amanda Clarke, Leslie Bush, Butler University; Melanie Jones-Sadler, Janelle Sabo, University of Missouri Kansas City; Rebeccah Collins, Mary Peace Dattilo, Virginia Commonwealth University; Melanie Ruane, Jeannie Rhee, University of Maryland; Holly Rogers, Kalen Beauchamp, University of Georgia; Teri Dittmar, Erin Sievers, Campbell University; and Estela Trimino, Leyanis Garcia, Nova Southeastern University


Participating Teams

The following institutions participated in the 1999 National Clinical Skills Competition. The teams represented:

Auburn University

Butler University

Campbell University

Drake University

Duquesne University

Ferris State University

Florida A&M University

Idaho State University

Long Island University

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy

Medical University of South Carolina

Mercer University

Midwestern University

North Dakota State University

Northeastern University

NovaSoutheastern University

Ohio Northern University

Oregon State University

Purdue University

Rutgers University

Samford University

Shenandoah University

South Dakota State University

St. John’s University

St. Louis College of Pharmacy

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Temple University

Texas Southern University

Texas Tech University

University of California-San Francisco

University of Arizona

University of Arkansas

University of Connecticut

University of Florida

University of Georgia

University of Houston

University of Illinois-Chicago

University of Iowa

University of Kansas

University of Kentucky

University of Maryland

University of Michigan

University of Minnesota

University of Missouri-Kansas City

University of Montana

University of New Mexico

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

University of Oklahoma

University of Pittsburgh

University of South Carolina

University of Southern California

University of Texas-Austin

University of the Pacific

University of the Sciences in Philadelphia

University of Washington

University of Wisconsin

University of Wyoming

Virginia Commonwealth University

Washington State University

West Virginia University

Western University