Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Pharmacists Selected for ASHP Foundation Spring 2000 Anticoagulation Management Service Traineeship Program

Sixteen pharmacists will participate in the spring session of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Research and Education Foundation's Anticoagulation Management Service Traineeship Program. This program, made possible through an educational grant from DuPont Pharmaceuticals Company of Wilmington, Del., provides specialized, experience-based training that prepares pharmacists to establish and maintain specialized services for the management of patients undergoing long-term anticoagulant therapy.

The five-day traineeships provide intensive instruction in organization and management, patient assessment and education, and quality control. Trainees will observe and participate in the activities of an established anticoagulation service in a health care system. The spring session will be held April 24-28. The preceptors, sites, and trainees are: 

James A. Haley Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Tampa, Fla. 


Preceptor: Douglas F. Covey, Pharm.D., M.H.A.
Trainees: Helen E. Swaby, North Broward Medical Center, Pompano Beach, Fla.; Kimberli M. Burgner, Home Hospital, Lafayette, Ind.; Suzanne P. Booth, Kaiser Permanente, Lithonia, Ga.; and Jeffrey T. Sherer, The Methodist Hospital, Houston, Texas

Medical College of Virginia Hospitals/Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond 

Preceptor: William L. Rock, Pharm.D.
Trainees: Wendy H. Everhart, Drug Therapy Management, Inc., Greensboro, N.C.; Tracy L. Maloney, Gila River Health Care Corporation, HuHu Kam Memorial Hospital, Sacaton, Ariz.; Craig A. Kimble, Pharm.D., M.B.A., Kings Daughters Medical Center/Owen HealthCare, Ashland, Ky.; and Jeffrey A. Pierce, Lawrence Memorial Hospital, Lawrence, Kan.

Veterans Affairs Pittsburgh Health Care System, Pittsburgh 

Preceptor: Laurie E. Trilli, Pharm.D., BCPS
Trainees: Kenneth A. Gagnon, Ashley Valley Medical Center, Vernal, Utah; Prashant D. Patel, Saint Francis Hospital & Medical Center, Hartford, Conn.; Glenn L. Laird, Andrews Air Force Base, Andrews Air Force Base, Md.; and Lisa A. Ramos, University of California-Davis Medical Center, Sacramento.

University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy, Madison 

Preceptor: Christine A. Sorkness, Pharm.D.
Trainees: Ron W. Baumgart, Sauk Prairie Memorial Hospital, Prairie du Sac, Wis.; Tammy J. Bungard, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada; Winnie W. Wong, Marshall Hospital Home Care, Placerville, Calif.; and Katy M. Marconi, Doctors Hospital of Manteca, Manteca, Calif.

The program will be offered again in the fall. Applications are currently available via fax by calling the Fax-on-Demand System at 301-664-8888 and requesting documents #702 and #703. More information about the program is also available on the Foundation's Web site, The deadline for application submission is June 1, 2000

The ASHP Research and Education Foundation was established in 1968 by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists as a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization. The mission of the Foundation is to foster research, education, and consensus-development activities that enable health-system pharmacists to expand their capacity to help people make the best use of medicines. The Foundation gives priority to programs that will have a high impact on improving the public health