Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

University of Arizona Captures Title in ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition

Pharmacy students got a head start on developing their career planning and patient care skills during the student programming offered at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP’s) 35th Annual Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 3, 2000 in Las Vegas. Focused activities for the more than 3,000 students culminated with the announcement of Michael Thomas and Robin Hager-McLaughlin of the University of Arizona as winners of the Society’s fifth National Clinical Skills Competition.

Sixty-four teams who won preliminary competitions at their local pharmacy schools participated in the activity (see below). The competition, which was sponsored by Merck-Medco Managed Care, LLC, offered students the opportunity to analyze actual patient cases, demonstrate their skills in assessing a patient’s medical history, identify drug therapy problems and treatment goals, and recommend a pharmacist’s care plan, that included monitoring variables and desired outcomes.

Student programming, which was divided into two tracks for senior and non-senior pharmacy students, included sessions on preparing for residencies, enhancing career development skills, and reviewing for the pharmacy board exam. "Top-notch programming and events like the Clinical Skills Competition are essential to preparing pharmacy students for leadership roles in patient care and within the profession as a whole," said ASHP President Mick L. Hunt, M.S., FASHP. "We are pleased to provide these educational opportunities and hope that students from all pharmacy schools will take advantage of them."

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication-error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines. Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective. The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their delivery of pharmaceutical care, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.


Top Ten Finalists 

Lizzy Norman and Jennifer Peterson, Auburn University; Brian Christenson and Jason Glick, Idaho State University; Bao Nguyen and Lindsay Huxtable, Midwestern University at Glendale; Michael Thomas and Robin Hager-McLaughlin, University of Arizona; Jennifer Brasiel and Susan Goldsmith, University of California at San Francisco; Ann Adams and Sheli Kraft, University of Oklahoma; Farooq Bandali and Asif Walji, University of Texas; Rinu Jacob and Leilani Latonio, University of the Sciences in Philadelphia; Chris Jones and Dale Whitby, Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia; and Nicole Orrell and Jennifer Sullivan, Western University of Health Sciences. 

Teams Participating in ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition 

The following institutions participated in the 2000 ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition. The teams represented:

 Arnold & Marie Schwartz University  University of Florida
 Auburn University  University of Georgia
 Butler University  University of Houston
 Campbell University  University of Illinois
 Drake University  University of Iowa
 Duquesne University  University of Kansas
 Ferris State University  University of Louisiana at Monroe
 Idaho State University  University of Maryland
 Massachusetts College of Pharmacy  University of Michigan
 Medical University of South Carolina  University of Minnesota
 Mercer University  University of Mississippi
 Midwestern University at Glendale  University of Missouri
 North Dakota State University  University of New Mexico
 Northeastern University  University of North Carolina
 Nova Southeastern University  University of Oklahoma
 Ohio Northern University  University of South Carolina
 Oregon State University  University of Southern California
 Purdue University  University of Tennessee
 Rutgers University  University of Texas
 Samford University  University of the Pacific
 Shenandoah University  University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
 South Dakota State University  University of Washington
 St. John's University  University of Wisconsin
 St. Louis College of Pharmacy  University of Wyoming
 SW Oklahoma State University  University Pittsburgh
 Temple University  Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical
College of Virginia
 Texas Southern University  Washington State University
 Texas Tech University  West Virginia University
 University of Arizona  Western University of Health Sciences
 University of Arkansas  Wilkes University
 University of California at San Francisco  Xavier University
 University of Connecticut