Skip to main content Back to Top


Practice Innovators Receive Best Practice Award

Kate Traynor

Six health systems whose pharmacy programs employed creative management strategies to improve the medication-use process will be recognized in December with ASHP’s Best Practices in Health-System Pharmacy Management Award.

The award, sponsored by ASHP in cooperation with Pfizer Inc., is given to health systems whose pharmacists have demonstrated leadership in practice management, especially in those areas that significantly improve the quality of patient care. The winners were selected from a nationwide pool of applicants.

The awardees are:

  • Antibiotic Usage Project

Timothy S. Jennings, Pharm.D.; Mark A. Szalwinski, M.H.A.; Randy Axelrod, M.D.; Sentara Healthcare, Norfolk, Va.

  • Combining Administrative, Distributive, and Clinical Pharmacy Staff to Provide Hospice Service

Kathleen A. Johnson, Pharm.D.; and Bradley Hren, Pharm.D.; St. Mary’s/Duluth Clinic Health System, Duluth, Minn.

  • Investigational Pharmacy Services at the University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Mark A. Kramer, M.S., R.Ph. University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston.

  • Implementation of Pharmaceutical Care Services in a Renal Dialysis Unit

Cynthia A. Naughton, Pharm.D., North Dakota State University College of Pharmacy, Fargo.

  • Improvement in the Medication-Use Process at San Antonio State Hospital

Ann L. Richards, Pharm.D., BCPP, San Antonio State Hospital

  • Four Year Evolution of a Multi-Site, Collaborative, Pharmacotherapy Clinic and Outcomes Research Department in a Community-Based Primary Care Medical Group

Ginger A. Woodford, Pharm.D.; Jacquelyn S. Hunt, Pharm.D., BCPS; Kristina L. Butler, Pharm.D.; James W. Slater, Pharm.D.; Providence Medical Group, Portland, Ore.

The award winners will present highlights from their programs during a Pfizer-sponsored symposium on Dec. 3, during ASHP’s Midyear Clinical Meeting in New Orleans.