Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Marvin Samson Honored for Committment to Pharmacy Profession

Marvin Samson, a noted leader in the development of pharmaceutical manufacturing and delivery systems, today received the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) Board of Directors Award of Honor for his service and achievements on behalf of the pharmacy profession. The award was presented today during the Opening General Session of the Society’s Midyear Clinical Meeting in New Orleans.

Samson has had a career-long close relationship with hospital and health-system pharmacists. As the leader of Elkins-Sinn, Inc. (now ESI-Lederle), he built a successful business by meeting the need in hospital pharmacy for quality injectable drugs in unit dose form. He was mentored in this respect by Ken Lusher, an early leader of the generic injectables industry. Samson sought the advice of respected hospital pharmacy leaders such as Sister Gonzales, a past president of ASHP, and shaped his company around the principles espoused by her and others.

Samson is also the founder and CEO of Samson Medical Technologies, L.L.C., a privately held company specializing in injectible drug systems. He holds five U.S. patents pertaining to pharmaceutical manufacturing.

The ASHP Board of Directors Award of Honor was established to recognize individuals who are not health-system pharmacists, but have made significant contributions to pharmacy profession. Samson is the 13th recipient of the award.

ASHP is the 31,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines. Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective. The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their delivery of pharmaceutical care, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.