Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Students From Medical University of South Carolina Win ASHP Clinical Skills Competition

Developing patient care skills, preparing for residencies, and enhancing career development skills were just a few of the topics covered during a full day of programming for pharmacy students at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP’s) 36th Annual Midyear Clinical Meeting, December 2, 2001, in New Orleans. Focused activities for the more than 2,600 students who attended culminated with the announcement of Aubrey Cartwright and Kelli Davis of the Medical University of South Carolina as winners of the Society’s sixth National Clinical Skills Competition.

Sixty-seven teams who won preliminary competitions at their local pharmacy schools participated in the activity (see back page for full listing). The competition, which was sponsored by Pfizer U.S. Pharmaceuticals Group, offered students the opportunity to analyze actual patient cases, demonstrate their skills in assessing a patient’s medical history, identify drug therapy problems and treatment goals, and recommend a pharmacist’s care plan, that included monitoring variables and desired outcomes.

Student programming included sessions on using ASHP’s Personnel Placement Service, honing financial management skills, and reviewing for the pharmacy board exam. "It’s critical that pharmacy students are introduced early to the skills that they need to take on leadership roles in the profession," said ASHP President Steven L. Sheaffer, Pharm.D., FASHP. "We are pleased to be able to offer the Clinical Skills Competition and top-notch programming to help pharmacy students get a head start on building these skills."

ASHP is the 31,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication-error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines. Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective. The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their delivery of pharmaceutical care, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.

Top Ten 2001 ASHP Clinical Skills Competition Finalists

Kim Cornelius and Jenny Norberg, Auburn University; Shandralynn Joiner and Martha Merchant, Howard University; Janet Mayo and John DeBoard, Idaho State University; Aubrey Cartwright and Kelli Davis, Medical University of South Carolina; Kristen Bamberg and Chenery Kinemond, Midwestern University at Glendale; Lindsay Arnold and Sandra Couto, Northeastern University; Amy Tiemeier and Jennifer Ormsby, St. Louis College of Pharmacy; Conan MacDougall and Amy Bower, University of California, San Francisco; Victoria Ke and Miranda Schuster, University of Kanasa Medical Center; Anne Chapman and Riona Ordinado, Washington State University.

Teams Participating in Competition

The following institutions participated in the 2001 ASHP National Clinical Skills Competition:

Arnold & Marie Schwartz (Long Island University)  University of California at San Francisco 
Auburn University University of Florida 
Butler University University of Georgia 
Campbell University University of Houston 
Drake University University of Illinois 
Duquesne University University of Iowa 
Ferris State University University of Kansas 
Hampton University University of Kentucky 
Howard University University of Louisiana at Monroe 
Idaho State University University of Maryland 
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy University of Michigan 
Medical University of South Carolina University of Minnesota 
Mercer University University of Mississippi 
Midwestern University at Chicago University of Missouri at Kansas City 
Midwestern University at Glendale University of Montana 
North Dakota State University University of New Mexico 
Northeastern University University of North Carolina 
Ohio Northern University University of Oklahoma 
Oregon State University University of Pittsburgh 
Purdue University University of South Carolina 
Rhode Island University University of Southern California 
Rutgers University University of Tennessee 
Samford University University of Texas at Austin 
Shenandoah University University of the Pacific 
South Dakota State University University of Washington 
St. John's University University of Wisconsin 
St. Louis College of Pharmacy University of Wyoming 
SW Oklahoma State University Virginia Commonwealth University/Medical College of Virginia 
Temple University Washington State University 
Texas Southern University West Virginia University 
Texas Tech University Western University 
The University of the Sciences in Philadelphia Wilkes University 
University of Arizona Xavier University of Louisiana 
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences