Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Daniel M. Ashby Tapped for ASHP Leadership Post

Daniel M. Ashby, M.S., FASHP will help guide ASHP’s efforts to strengthen the role of pharmacists as the Society’s next President-elect. Also selected for terms on the Board of Directors were Kevin J. Colgan, M.S., Janet A. Silvester, M.B.A, and Marjorie Shaw Phillips, M.S.

AshbyAshby is the director of pharmacy at the Johns Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore. He is also associate professor at the University of Maryland. He received his B.S. and M.S. in pharmacy from Wayne State University. 

Ashby’s 30 years of practice have focused on improving the scope and quality of pharmacy services; implementing pharmaceutical care, clinical services, and residency training; and mentoring staff and students. He has served as director of pharmacy for Methodist Hospital in Memphis, Tenn. and Harper Hospital in Detroit, Mich.

He has served a term on the ASHP Board of Directors and as a delegate to the ASHP House of Delegates. Ashby’s ASHP service also includes work on the Commission on Credentialing, Task Force on Technical Personnel, USP Advisory Committee, and the Ad Hoc Student Advisory Group.

Colgan is vice president, Medical and Outcomes Research at EPI-Q, Inc., in Oakbrook Terrace, Ill., and adjunct clinical professor University of Illinois, Chicago. Silvester is director of pharmacy at Martha Jefferson Hospital in Charlottesville, Va. Phillips practices at the Medical College of Georgia Hospitals and Clinics and is an adjunct clinical professor at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.

Ashby and Phillips began their appointments in September. Colgan and Silvester will begin their terms in June 2003.