Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Practitioners Receive 2002 Best Practices Award

Providing primary care pharmacy services to the community, enhancing the use of computerized physician order entry, and using pharmacy technicians to transcribe outpatient medications to inpatient medication orders were among the innovations honored today during the Opening General Session of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists’ (ASHP) 37th Annual Midyear Clinical Meeting. 

Six teams of practitioners who employed creative management strategies to improve the medication-use process at their health systems were recipients of the ASHP Best Practices Award in Health-System Pharmacy.  The award, sponsored in cooperation with Pfizer Inc., recognizes pharmacists who have demonstrated leadership in practice management, especially in those areas that significantly improve the quality of patient care. The winners were selected from a nationwide pool of applicants. 

The 2002 award winners are:

  • Development of a Community-Wide Primary Care Pharmacy Program—Burnis D. Breland, M.S., Pharm.D., FASHP, and Debbie Nowlin, R.Ph., Columbus Regional Healthcare System, Columbus, Ga. 
  • The Establishment and Outcomes of a Model Primary Care Pharmacy System—Jannet  M. Carmichael, Pharm.D., FCCP, BCPS; Autumn A. Alvarez, Pharm.D.; Ryan L. Chaput, Pharm.D.; Jennifer L. DiMaggio, Pharm.D.; Heather E. Magallon, Pharm.D., VA Sierra Nevada Healthcare System, Reno, Nev. 
  • Disease State Management Services Provided by Primary Care Pharmacists in a Community-Based Medical Network—Steven W. Chen, Pharm.D., FASHP, CDM; Karine Simonian, Pharm.D.; Emmanuel Saltiel, Pharm.D., FASHP; Edith Mirzakhanian, Pharm.D.; Stephen Deutsch, M.D., FACP; Delia Vogel, RN, CPHQ, Cedars-Sinai Medical Group, Beverly Hills, Calif. 
  • The Transformation of a Pharmacy Department: A 10-Year Journey to Preeminence in Pharmacy Practice—Dennis K. Helling, Pharm.D., FCCP, FASHP; Kent M. Nelson, Pharm.D., BCPS; Jairo E. Ramirez, R.Ph.; Tammy L. Humphries, Pharm.D., BCPS, Kaiser Permanente Colorado Region, Aurora, Colo. 
  • Enhancing Computerized Physician Order Entry (CPOE) to Improve Patient Care and the Medication Order Process—Fred R. Hargrove, D.Ph.; James R. Knight, M.S., FASHP; Douglas Talbert, Ph.D.; Randolph Miller, M.D.; Stephen K. Huffines, Pharm.D., Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tenn. 
  • Use of Pharmacy Technicians to Reconcile Patients’ Home Medications—Ryan D. Michels, Pharm.D., and Steven Meisel, Pharm.D., Fairview Southdale Hospital, Edina, Minn.

The award winners presented posters describing the successful implementation of their programs last night at a reception at the Atlanta Hilton.  Summaries of the programs are available online at

“The challenges facing pharmacy and health care require an innovative, ‘out-of-the-box’ approach,” said ASHP President Debra S. Devereaux, M.B.A., FASHP.  “The recipients of this award have done just that.  We hope that their creativity will inspire other practitioners.”

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication-error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines.  Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective.  The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their professional practice, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs. For more information, visit or