Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

Ron J. Anderson, M.D., Honored for Support of Pharmacy Profession

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) today honored Ron J. Anderson, M.D., for his ongoing commitment to the importance of health-system pharmacists’ role in ensuring that patients receive optimal benefits from their medications.  Anderson received the Society’s Board of Directors Award of Honor during the opening session of ASHP’s 38th Midyear Clinical Meeting in New Orleans.

President and CEO of Parkland Health & Hospital System in Dallas, Dr. Anderson has been a tireless advocate of drug therapy management services throughout Parkland’s ambulatory care clinics.  He also continues to support pharmacist leadership in important institution-wide initiatives—such as the development of technology standards—within the health system.

“We are so happy to honor Dr. Anderson in this way for his tireless commitment to improved patient outcomes through drug therapy management,” said ASHP President Daniel M. Ashby, M.S., FASHP. “He has been a true friend to our profession in general and to our members in particular who strive every day to ensure the safe and effective use of medicines.”

Dr. Anderson, who received a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the Southwestern University of Oklahoma Pharmacy School in 1969 and an MD from the University of Oklahoma School of Medicine in 1973, became Parkland’s CEO in 1982.

He previously served as Parkland’s medical director for ambulatory care and emergency services. Dr. Anderson has remained on the faculty of the University of Oklahoma Medical School as professor of internal medicine and continues to see patients and teach house staff physicians at Parkland.

Dr. Anderson served on the executive committee of the State Task Force on Indigent Health Care and in 1985 played a major role in the passage of landmark legislation concerning indigent health care in Texas. He was appointed co-chair of the Texas Attorney General’s task force to study not-for-profit hospitals and unsponsored charity care in 1988, and served as a member of Governor Richard’s Health Policy Task Force during 1991-1992.

Dr. Anderson is past chairman of: the Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council, the Texas Association of Public and Non-Profit Hospitals, the Texas Board of Health, the National Association of Public Hospitals, the National Public Health and Hospital Institute, and the Texas Hospital Association. He was a member of the Kaiser Commission on the Future of Medicaid.  He was elected to the prestigious Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences in 1997. 

Dr. Anderson has been the recipient of a number of health care awards, including the John P. McGovern Award for Humanitarian Medicine and Lectureship, the American Public Health Association Award for Excellence, the Dallas Baptist University-Oak Cliff Good Samaritan Award, and the first-ever Annual Ron J. Anderson, M.D., Healthcare Servant Leadership Award from the Alliance for Healthcare Excellence. 

The ASHP Board of Directors Award of Honor is given to individuals who are not health- system pharmacists but who have made significant contributions to the health field.  Since its inception in 1966, only 15 individuals have received this award.

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, ambulatory care clinics, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines.  Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective.  The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their professional practice, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.  For more information, visit ASHP’s Web site, or