Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

ASHP Honors Kevin Roberg for Contributions to Medication Safety

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) today honored Kevin L. Roberg for his efforts to reduce medication errors in hospitals and health systems.  Roberg received the Society’s Board of Directors Award of Honor during the opening session of ASHP’s 38th Midyear Clinical Meeting in New Orleans.

Roberg is a general partner with the health care venture capital firm Delphi Ventures based in Menlo Park, Calif., and Minneapolis, Minn.  He has held a number of positions in health care management, including vice president of national operations for Partners National Health Plans, chief operating officer and division president of Diversified Pharmaceutical Services, and chief executive officer and president of ValueRx. 

He is a dedicated advocate for the development of a fail-safe medication use system.  Roberg educates a broad spectrum of leaders about their responsibilities toward patient safety, including policymakers and health care executives.  He is a member of several private, public, and charitable boards, including the ASHP Research and Education Foundation, pressing for greater corporate involvement in patient safety efforts. 

Roberg also works closely with families of hospitalized children to help parents understand the intricacies of the health care system.  His special commitment to families is borne from his own experience.  Roberg’s daughter, Kelsey, died following a long battle with cancer.  In the course of her many hospitalizations she experienced a medication error and several near misses.  He has made an annual contribution to an ASHP Foundation medication safety grant program in her honor.

“Kevin holds no ill feelings toward any health practitioner who may have been involved in a medication error,” said Stephen J. Allen, M.S., FASHP, executive vice president of the ASHP Research and Education Foundation.  “Instead, he works tirelessly to help people commit to improving systems so that well-trained and well-meaning health professionals can serve patients optimally.”

The ASHP Board of Directors Award of Honor is given to individuals who are not health- system pharmacists but who have made significant contributions to the health field.  Since its inception in 1966, only 15 individuals have received this award.

ASHP is the 30,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, ambulatory care clinics, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines.  Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective.  The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their professional practice, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.  For more information, visit ASHP’s Web site, or