Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

ASHP Recognizes Members' Practice Excellence and Leadership

Nineteen health-system pharmacists have been given the title “Fellow” by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) in acknowledgment of their distinguished service to pharmacy practice in hospitals and health systems.

The ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program recognizes excellence in practice and promotes public awareness of outstanding pharmacists.  Each applicant’s credentials are assessed against rigorous criteria that include contributions to the scientific literature, research, and continued support of the profession through membership and participation in ASHP.  Applicants also must have practiced in a concentrated area of pharmacy for at least 10 years to be considered for recognition.

  • Jon Todd Albrecht, B.S., Parkland Health and Hospital System, Dallas, Texas;
  • David D. Allen, Ph.D., Texas Tech University, Amarillo, Texas;
  • James Colbert, Jr., Pharm.D., University of California at San Diego, San Diego, Calif.;
  • David N. Copelan, Pharm.D., M.P.A. Southern Regional Medical Center, Riverdale, Ga.;
  • Jeanne R. Ezell, M.S., Blount Memorial Hospital, Maryville, Tenn.;
  • Rawley M. Guerrero, Pharm.D., M.B.A., Jackson Memorial Hospital, Miami, Fla.;
  • Zachary I. Hanan, M.S., ZIH Pharmacy Associates, Oakdale, N.Y.;
  • Timothy R. Lanese, B.S., M.B.A., Lake Hospital System, Northeast Ohio;
  • Scott M. Mark, Pharm.D., M.Ed., Children's National Medical Ctr., Washington, D.C.;
  • Joseph J. Medicis, Pharm.D., Upstate Medical University Hospital, Syracuse, N.Y.;
  • Scott A. Meyers, M.S., Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists, Rockford, Ill;
  • Michael A. Oszko, Pharm.D., University of Kansas School of Pharmacy, Lawrence, Kan.;
  • Pamela Phelps, Pharm.D., Fairview Health-System, Minneapolis, Minn.;
  • Barbara Miles Poe, B.S., M.B.A., Norman Regional Hospital, Norman, Okla.;
  • Kevin Purcell, M.D., Pharm.D., Pharmacotherapy Solutions and Healthcare and Leadership Solutions, Corpus Christi, Texas;
  • Ted L. Rice, M.S., School of Pharmacy, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pa.;
  • Michael D. Sanborn, M.S., Baylor University Medical Center, Dallas, Texas;
  • Avery L. Spunt, B.S, M.Ed., National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, Park Ridge, Ill.;
  • Ann K. Wittkowsky, Pharm.D., University of Washington Medical Center and University of Washington School of Pharmacy, Seattle, Wash.

The 2004 Fellows will be honored on Tuesday, June 22, during the ASHP Summer Meeting 2004 in Las Vegas.

For information about the ASHP Practitioner Recognition Program or to request an application, contact the Accreditation Services Division at (301) 657-3000, ext. 1329.  Information, program criteria, and forms are also available on ASHP’s Web site at The deadline for receipt of applications is October 1, 2004.

ASHP is the 31,000-member national professional association that represents pharmacists who practice in hospitals, health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, home care, and other components of health care systems. ASHP, which has a long history of medication error prevention efforts, believes that the mission of pharmacists is to help people make the best use of medicines.  Assisting pharmacists in fulfilling this mission is ASHP's primary objective.  The Society has extensive publishing and educational programs designed to help members improve their delivery of pharmaceutical care, and it is the national accrediting organization for pharmacy residency and pharmacy technician training programs.  For more information, visit ASHP’s Web site,