Skip to main content Back to Top

Press Release

ASHP Presents Award for Distinguished Leadership to Mary Ann Kliethermes

Professor and Clinician Active in Quality Improvement, Practice Sustainability Efforts

ASHP today honored Mary Ann Kliethermes, Pharm.D., Vice Chair and Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice at Chicago College of Pharmacy at Midwestern University in Downers Grove, Ill., with its Award for Distinguished Leadership during the opening session of ASHP’s 51st Midyear Clinical Meeting and Exhibition in Las Vegas. Dr. Kliethermes was honored for her work to expand patient care roles for pharmacists in current and emerging healthcare models.

Established in 2001, the ASHP Award for Distinguished Leadership recognizes individuals who have achieved excellence in pharmacy practice leadership.

Dr. Kliethermes is also Vice President of Clinical Services and Co-owner of Clinical Pharmacy Systems in Elmhurst, Ill. Prior to joining the faculty at Chicago College of Pharmacy, Dr. Kliethermes was Manager of the MTM Clinic and Clinical Assistant Professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Pharmacy and served as Co-Director of the Illinois Center for Pharmaceutical Care Division of the Illinois Pharmacy Foundation. She also held clinical coordinator positions at MacNeal Hospital in Berwyn, Ill. and Harper-Grace Hospital in Detroit.

“Dr. Kliethermes’ work has helped to broaden opportunities for pharmacists to use their clinical knowledge to improve patient care,” said ASHP President Lisa M. Gersema, Pharm.D., M.H.A., BCPS, FASHP. “We are pleased to recognize her leadership and the significant contributions she has made to pharmacy practice. “

Dr. Kliethermes is a Past Chair of the ASHP Section of Ambulatory Care Practitioners. She has represented ASHP on several interdisciplinary committees, including the American Medical Association’s Physician Consortium for Performance Advisory Group on Compensation and Practice Sustainability, the Joint Commission Ambulatory Professional Technical Advisory Committee, and the ASPE Ambulatory Safety Project Technical Expert Panel Meeting. She has been actively involved with the Pharmacy Quality Alliance since its inception, holding a number of leadership positions. She volunteers on two Pharmacy Health Information Technology Collaborative workgroups and is a member of the Illinois Medication Safety Coalition’s Advisory Council.

Dr. Kliethermes is also Past Chair of the American Pharmacist Association’s Patient-Centered Medical Home/Accountable Care Organization Special Interest Group, a Past Chair of the Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists’ Educational Committee, and has served as a delegate from Illinois to the ASHP House of Delegates.

In addition to the Distinguished Leadership award, Dr. Kliethermes has received the ASHP Distinguished Service Award (2008). She is a Fellow of the Chicago Institute of Medicine (2009) and was named Outstanding Faculty of the Year (2014) by the Chicago College of Pharmacy and Illinois Pharmacist of the Year (2003) by the Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists (ICHP). She also received ICHP’s Shining Star Award (2015).

Dr. Kliethermes speaks frequently at local, state, and national pharmacy and healthcare meetings. She is co-author of Building a Successful Ambulatory Care Practice.

About ASHP

ASHP represents pharmacists who serve as patient care providers in acute and ambulatory settings.  The organization’s more than 43,000 members include pharmacists, student pharmacists, and pharmacy technicians. For over 70 years, ASHP has been at the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists advance healthcare, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,

Join / Renew

Join ASHP or renew your membership to take advantage of our benefits, services and resources
View Benefits
Link the whole card

Link the whole card