Skip to main content Back to Top

ASHP Innovation Center: Latest on Telehealth

Broadcast Date: May 28, 2021


Subscribe on iTune PodcastsListen on Google PlaySubscribe to Stitcher Podcasts Listen on Spotify Subscribe to TuneIn PodcastsSubscribe to iHeartRadio

The rising demand for telehealth services significantly increased during the COVID-19 pandemic by providing safer access to and delivery of care for both patients and providers. Even after the pandemic, it is anticipated there will be ongoing demand for the use of telehealth as a major means of healthcare delivery. This podcast explores ASHP offerings which advance practice and optimize medication outcomes through the use of telehealth.


Sophia ChhaySophia R. Chhay, Pharm.D., is the Assistant Director of the ASHP Innovation Center. In this role, Sophia helps lead and manage efforts to implement new programs, and identify new partnerships and collaboration opportunities that support and advance ASHP’s mission and vision. She also provides leadership and management support for strategic planning, external stakeholder engagement, business and program development, executive communications, and operations for the Office of the Chief Operating Officer and Senior Vice President. Sophia received her Pharm.D. from the University of Findlay College of Pharmacy in Ohio before completing a PGY-1 pharmacy residency at the Erie VA Medical Center in Pennsylvania. Prior to joining ASHP as staff, Dr. Chhay was the 2017-2018 ASHP Executive Fellow in Association Leadership and Management. During her year-long fellowship, Dr. Chhay received hands on training in all facets of not-for-profit association management and direct mentorship from ASHP’s Senior Leadership. She also currently serves as the program coordinator for the ASHP Executive Fellowship in Association Leadership and Management.

David ChenDavid Chen, B.S.Pharm., M.B.A., is the Assistant Vice President for Pharmacy Leadership and Planning and the ASHP Staff Liaison for the Section’s Executive Committee and member groups.

Chen joined ASHP in September 2004, and had previously served the role as Director of Pharmacy at Shady Grove Adventist Hospital in Rockville, MD, including the Kessler/Adventist Rehabilitation Hospital. Prior experience includes different Director of Pharmacy roles in Texas and Florida and central operations supervisor for the University of Maryland Medical Center Pharmacy. Additionally, he was a Regional Marketing Manager for the west coast and Regional Recruiter for the northeast with Owen Healthcare, Inc. (now part of Cardinal Health).

Chen received his B.S.Pharm. from the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy and completed the Director-in-Training program for Owen Healthcare, Inc in Texas. He earned his M.B.A from the Loyola University Maryland.

His responsibilities with ASHP include working with pharmacy leaders in multi-hospital health systems, coordinating pharmacy leadership and management resources with Section members, developing ASHP’s annual Conference for Pharmacy Leaders, assisting with the ASHP Foundation’s Pharmacy Forecast, and supporting achievement of the Practice Advancement Initiative (PAI).

Mary Anne KliethermesMary Ann Kliethermes received a BS in pharmacy from the University of Michigan in 1977 her Doctor of Pharmacy from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science in 1981. Her career includes clinical practice and management in hospital, home infusion, ambulatory practice and academia. Her current position is Director of Medication Safety and Quality at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Her expertise is in pharmacist reimbursement, medication optimization, safety and quality attainment associated pharmacist services; particularly in new health care models and value-based payment systems.

She has served as Chair of the Section of Ambulatory Care for ASHP , represented ASHP at the Joint Commission Ambulatory Professional and Technical Advisory Group, the Care Transitions Work Group of the PCPI and the Ambulatory Patient Safety Technical Advisory Panel for ASPE/HHS. She is a member of the ASHP SAG on Clinical Practice Advancement. Mary Ann has contributed to the Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA) since its inception. She has served as Chair, Executive Committee and Board member of PQA. She is past chair for the APhA PCMH/ACO SIG. Mary Ann has been awarded Pharmacist of the Year, Shining Star Award and the Amy Lodolce Mentorship Award from ICHP, the Distinguished Service Award and Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice from ASHP, CCP Outstanding Faculty Award and the Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence award from APhA.

Bayli LarsonBayli Larson, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS, is Strategic Initiatives Associate at ASHP in Bethesda, MD. In her role she helps manage and lead a variety of collaborative cross-organizational strategic activities to help advance ASHP’s mission and vision. Bayli recently completed the ASHP Executive Fellowship in Association Leadership and Management at ASHP and prior to that completed an ASHP-accredited PGY1 residency at UCHealth Memorial Hospital in Colorado Springs, Colo., and earned her Pharm.D. from the University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences in 2018. She previously obtained a bachelor’s degree in Microbiology and a master’s degree in Environmental Health: Toxicology from Colorado State University.

The information presented during the podcast reflects solely the opinions of the presenter. The information and materials are not, and are not intended as, a comprehensive source of drug information on this topic. The contents of the podcast have not been reviewed by ASHP, and should neither be interpreted as the official policies of ASHP, nor an endorsement of any product(s), nor should they be considered as a substitute for the professional judgment of the pharmacist or physician.